Like Tree1Likes

Thread: "Please insert the disk..." for all mounted images

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    07.11.2008
    Posts
    2

    Ausrufezeichen "Please insert the disk..." for all mounted images

    Hello all. Just reinstalled my Windows XP SP3 OS. A couple of days I had no problems mounting all kind of images and accessing them just fine.
    However I don't know why now every time I try to mount an image file and install some game or application I get the "Please insert disk number..." or "Please insert the disk...".
    For example in My Computer all seems fine with the virtual drive.
    I don't know what else to do. I also tried other mounting applications with no success.
    I used the images that I'm trying to mount now before and everything worked fine.

    Could it be because of the SATA driver for my HDD or such ? Basically the SMART failed for my HDD and when it was returned back from the warranty the HDD wasn't Hitachi anymore but Fujitsu. I am using the Windows XP SP3 install CD into which I inserted the SATA drivers with nLite when I had the Hitachi HDD. Now I have the Fujitsu HDD but the driver works fine as I can leave the SATA option activated in bios and boot Windows (I have a HP Compaq 6720s).

    What else can I do to get this working again ?
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    New User
    Join Date
    07.11.2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Just installed Windows Vista Business and latest version of Daemon Tools Lite. I have the same problem.
    After I click the install button of every application mounted it asks me for the CD.
    I'm beginning to think that this is an emulation issue.

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    04.11.2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Hmm... Your problem seems to be similar to mine (I created another topic for that: Images/Virtual Drive won't work). Is your virtual drive clearly visible?

    I'm wondering what the source of the problem could be *sigh*.

  4. #4
    New User
    Join Date
    14.11.2008
    Posts
    2

    Default same issue

    daemon tools could easily run and install programs/games up until recently when i formatted my computer..now it always says insert the correct cd-rom
    no matter what i'm trying to install
    obviously the format changed something on here..but i don't know WHAT

    please someone needs to figure this one out!

  5. #5
    New User
    Join Date
    04.11.2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I think I've got an solution for this. Maybe it works if you set the virtual drive (instead of the physical) to be the first drive when the computer asks for a CD.

    Does somebody know how to change the priority of "reading drives"? It should be somewhere in the Windows Control Panel.

  6. #6
    GERMAN TRANSLATOR

    Blazkowicz's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.11.2005
    Posts
    6,401

    Default

    Priority? I think you want to know how to change drive letters.

    Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management -> Right click on optical drive -> Change drive letters and path
    Make something idiot proof, but then they just make a better idiot
    Peace Through Power

  7. #7
    New User
    Join Date
    04.11.2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote: "In Windows Control Panel, make the virtual drive the first drive to be read instead of the physical CD-ROM drive."

    Are you sure he/she meant "changing the drive letters"?

  8. #8
    New User
    Join Date
    23.11.2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Just signed up to complain about this issue too - it's a real pain in the butt.
    I hate having to fish out my old cds - so many to search through >_<

    I've been recently suffering from this issue too, and I'm pretty sure I've found the cause.
    What happens (on my system, at least) is I'll mount a image, run the autorun software, and something will cause the virtual drive to eject itself. I have no clue WHAT causes it, but I've so far been unsuccessful at making it insert the virtual drive's tray back in. If I eject it myself before something else does, then I can re-insert it fine, but it'll still eject itself after I do, leaving me stuck as to what I could do.
    Any ideas?
    Last edited by Blazkowicz : 23.11.2008 at 16:53

  9. #9
    GERMAN TRANSLATOR

    Blazkowicz's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.11.2005
    Posts
    6,401

    Default

    Image only gets unmounted itself when access to image file is somehow bad. E.g. through bad drivers, network, raid etc.
    Make something idiot proof, but then they just make a better idiot
    Peace Through Power

  10. #10
    New User
    Join Date
    23.11.2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blazkowicz View Post
    Image only gets unmounted itself when access to image file is somehow bad. E.g. through bad drivers, network, raid etc.
    I've tried accessing the image to no avail from my iPod (acting as a external drive), my 250GB SATA and my 500GB SATA drive.
    I've not tried it from my IDE drive.
    There aren't any issues that I know of with my configuration - Daemon Tools is the only software that gives me issues.
    Also, as I said, the image isn't unmounted, but the virtual drive acts as if it has been ejected, as if you were to eject the disc tray while installing software from a physical disc. I can't make Daemon tools re-insert the tray, but it does say the image is still mounted.

    Any clue as to what COULD be going wrong?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •