Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can starforce kill a dvd-burner?

Hi,

Im new at this and until today I would think that this was a silly question. I just heard of starforce after reading a review against a game because it uses this driver. So I made a quick google search on the subject and I found some people complaining that starforce killed their dvd/cd readers/burners.... Is this possible? The thing is I had in a 3 drives that stopped working. One DVD reader, a cd-burner/dvd reader combo and a DVD burner. They were all LGs... The burners would start having buffer problems on Nero and after awile, they wouldnt be able to read anything... they just chewed on the discs and couldnt find them... I've just checked my hidden drivers and yes, starforce is there... (one "environment 1.x" driver and a "helper driver 2.x"). I've always found the dieing LGs thing strange and no one I talked to about it had a clue about what could had been happening.... I still don't know what starforce is exactly and what it does, but I had never a reboot for trying to burn anything.... Any thoughts? Another thing.... the game I was talking about is Silent Hunter 3 from UBI and it seams it uses the starforce thing... I ordered it online and it hasn't arrived yet... Should I install it? My 2 drives are both LGs dvd-burners....

sure it's possible. many ppl are boycotting that protection and this is one of the reason

Comment

Yeah, Silent Hunter is Starforce 3.4.71.19 protected.
      Did you try uninstalling the Starforce drivers?:

Exec. the program and Reboot. Then try burning sth.
      I have an LG DVD-Writer too, and i havn't got any problems yet.
      Heaven Can Wait -- My Band-Page

Comment

I have seen many postings claiming this.

The claim is that their drives are forced into PIO mode which causes the drive to slow down & work incorrectly, gradually causing permanent damage.

Check your IDE Channel Properties & make sure your drives are not running in PIO mode