PDA

View Full Version : Any way to autoload SPTD.sys?



Jakob_A
27.04.2006, 12:42
After installing DT4 it takes about 3-5 sec longer too boot winXP because of the safetyquestion/delay "Press ESC to cancel loading SPTD.sys" during boot.

Is there any way to disable this and make sptd.sys autoload without that delay? Ive never had any problems with DT4 on any configuration and I dont like to have long boottime if possible.

Cheers for an otherwise excellent application! :)

al1uk
27.04.2006, 13:08
does it not only say this when booting in safe mode

g31
27.04.2006, 13:55
does it not only say this when booting in safe mode

no, this message appears every boot, but on some machines or windows versions (dont know why) longer. i don't see this message, because its only a few milisec. shown.

al1uk
27.04.2006, 16:11
thats strange. check your boot.ini via msconfig to see if any extra switches have been added.

g31
27.04.2006, 17:57
thats strange. check your boot.ini via msconfig to see if any extra switches have been added.

are you sure, that you mean boot.ini ?

on XP, does the boot.ini just contains informations about the boot devices for the boot loader, or doesn't ? :confused:

for example:


[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

al1uk
27.04.2006, 21:56
yes, i meant boot.ini.


on XP, does the boot.ini just contains informations about the boot devices for the boot loader, or doesn't ? :confused

it does, but im sure there is an option to show loading drivers without booting into safe mode. was that your boot.ini you posted?? if so, then im not sure whats causing sptd.sys to show up.

you should try uninstalling and reinstalling sptd.sys. go to the dwnload section and get the tool

g31
27.04.2006, 22:01
if so, then im not sure whats causing sptd.sys to show up.

you should try uninstalling and reinstalling sptd.sys. go to the dwnload section and get the tool

thanks, but i'm not the one who has a problem with this. :wink: everything works fine for me. :D

but i hope it works for "Jakob_A". :wink:

Underheaven
28.04.2006, 06:42
That warning message being displayed during a regular boot? I've never heard of such a thing.