PDA

View Full Version : System lock-up accesing a drive where there is an Imagen mounted



microbati
27.10.2006, 18:18
Hi!,

I've been using deamon tools for quite long time, but lately I ran into a problem which seems pretty odd to me.

Let me start describind my current configuration:
- Athlon XP 2400, 764 MB RAM.
- NForce 2 MoBo.
- Raid 0 with two SATA Disks (partitioned in C: and D:)
- WinXP SP2 (installed in the bootable RAID C:)
- NOD32 (Av)
- Deamon Tools 4.03 and 4.06

This is what happens:

I've mounted a CD Image (.mds) into D: which is stored into a compressed folder (only that CD Image)
If windows chashes when I've mounted that Image during the next reboot the system hangs during NOD32 loading screen.
If I reboot in Safe Mode I can do almost anything except:
- Do a checkdisk on D:
- Delete Vistual Device for mounted image.
- Uninstall deamon tools.
- Run deamon tools

If I try anything of these the system hangs (Can move the mouse but nothing, even TaskMan, works)

It has happened three times now.

- Workaround found:
I've installed another fresh copy of WinXP in an IDE Drisk Drive and added it to boot options in XP.
Log into that copy of Windows (doesn't have anything except drivers and OS) and rename the compressed folder where the CD Image is Stored in D:
After that I'm able to log-in into the original copy of Windows with success.
(can't do this booting from WinXP CDs because of RAID drivers)

Is not the prettiest solution, but definitly is better than repairing the whole OS like I did the frist time (which didn't resolve the issue btw)

Sorry for the lenghty post but I've tried to POST as much detail as I thought was relevant.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Edited: Just a couple of typo errors ;)

evlncrn8
27.10.2006, 18:30
problem is most likely the compressed folders then, think this was discussed before

microbati
27.10.2006, 18:33
I did some research but I couldn't find a thread about it ... I'll try disabling the compressed folder and see what happens.

BTW if you have the link to that discussion it would be great.

Thanks for your reply.

evlncrn8
27.10.2006, 22:42
http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/showthread.php?t=14473&highlight=compressed

and mentioned in the customer section i think, but you aren't a customer, which is why you probably didn't find it

Copytrooper
27.10.2006, 23:00
Please wait for next version.

Ahdinko
29.10.2006, 12:43
Or try the solution in my thread.
http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/t14578-for-those-who-updated-to-406-and-now-system-hangs-or-doesnt-respond-when-mounting.html

Ahdinko
29.10.2006, 12:46
Oh, and similarities I can see between your rig and mine, Ive got an AMD processor (although hugely different) but I do have a nforce 2 motherboard.

Motherboard could be the cause of this?

microbati
30.10.2006, 22:29
Oh, and similarities I can see between your rig and mine, Ive got an AMD processor (although hugely different) but I do have a nforce 2 motherboard.

Motherboard could be the cause of this?

I don't know :confused: but since I removed the "Compressed folder" option the glitch's also gone.

Thanks everyone for your replies.

Germбn.