PDA

View Full Version : Silent install and When U



muiz
19.11.2006, 00:27
After install Daemontools silent with /S it also installed When U
How can i avoid this?
Otherwise people who use silent always have to install When U.

Alco
19.11.2006, 13:30
If you do not want to support us you can just delete SetupDTSB.exe after silent installation and it will never run.

muiz
19.11.2006, 23:58
Its not that i dont want to support.
But if i install it the normal way i have a choice.
And not with silent install.
Maybe a switch for that would help

/S /Nosearch or whatever

adrian_vg
27.03.2007, 07:50
If you do not want to support us you can just delete SetupDTSB.exe after silent installation and it will never run.
Can this file normally be found in the default Daemon Tools install-folder?
When I did a silent install the other day, Symantec Antivirus Corp Ed reacted and threw up a warning about malware or something. Since then I've never seen the mentioned SetupDTSB.exe. :confused:
TIA.

adrian_vg
27.03.2007, 08:43
Its not that i dont want to support.
But if i install it the normal way i have a choice.
And not with silent install.
Maybe a switch for that would help
/S /Nosearch or whatever

I agree, I want to support as well.

If I register a copy of DT, will I get an installer w/o the adware-thingie?

TIA.

Kinlaadare
27.03.2007, 11:16
No. You still have to uncheck the installation of whenU

Jito463
27.03.2007, 13:03
Though they're looking to implement a system that would allow them to have two seperate downloads again (one for customers, one for general public).

Kinlaadare
27.03.2007, 15:48
Did not hear of that... but maybe. (I'm too lazy today to have a look)

adrian_vg
28.03.2007, 08:04
No. You still have to uncheck the installation of whenU

Not an option. I just can't install DT manually and uncheck the adware on 100+ clients...

So far I've let Symantec Antivirus purge the found adware automatically and added a line to the install script to delete the setupdtsb.exe file should SAV fail.

It's not pretty but it works.

adrian_vg
28.03.2007, 08:05
Though they're looking to implement a system that would allow them to have two seperate downloads again (one for customers, one for general public).

Yes!! Can you lobby for this? Do the authors see these posts?

bobbintb
08.09.2007, 08:22
Not an option. I just can't install DT manually and uncheck the adware on 100+ clients...
So far I've let Symantec Antivirus purge the found adware automatically and added a line to the install script to delete the setupdtsb.exe file should SAV fail.
It's not pretty but it works.

try writing an autoit script then

manny1976
14.09.2007, 15:12
I tried it and it works.:D