Unusual DVD Read Problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unusual DVD Read Problems

Alright... this is my first post on these forums, and it is a post of last resort. I am an IT Technician myself, and I have no idea what is wrong with this. I have called ASUS and they have no idea either. I'll run through the basics with ya. If you have any idea what is wrong with my computer, please please help, haha.

Comp Specs:
    Core 2 Duo E6600
    ASUS P5B Delux Wi-Fi Edition Mobo
    2GB DDR2-800 RAM
    ASUS DRW-1612BL DVD+RW combo drive.
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Card
    Sapphire Radeon x1950xt 512MB Gphx Card
    74GB 10,000RPM Raptor SATA HDD
    300BG Seagate IDE HDD
    Windows Business Vista 32Bit

Essentially I am having issues reading DVD's. CD's work fine, but DVD's won't work at all. Now, the first thing that comes to mind, of course, is that my Optical Drive is busted, or the laser is dirty. Well, here's the kicker - DVD images mounted with D-Tools don't work either. Once again, CD images work fine, but it simply won't work with DVD's.

On top of that it also blue screen now. I would love to analyze the dmp file with DumpChk, however since I am using Vista I can't install Windows XP Support Tools from the Microsoft website. If anybody knows any download sites for DumpChk - please share this information with me. However, this is the two important bits of bluescreen info:
    0x0000008E
    Win32k.sys

Now, a 0x8E is generally a hardware driver or BIOS issue. So what did I do? I upgraded my optical drive's firmware, I upgraded my BIOS to the current version, I upgraded my Intel SouthBridge, and I upgraded my JMicron IDE Controller (Since the Optical Drive is in the IDE slot). Aside from that I can't think of anything else to upgrade that relates to Optical Drives. I re-seated my drive, and even swapped it out with another drive - nothing worked.