Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Total newbie - where to start with C&C First Decade

Hi all,
    This is my first post to the forum, so please be gentle!
    I haven't got much experience with Daemon Tools, and I was wondering if I can use the program to help me with a problem I'm having with C&C: The First Decade.
    I have the original UK retail version of the game, with a factory-pressed DVD-ROM. When I try to start it, the disk spins up, and I get a 'cannot locate DVD-ROM, please insert valid disk' error.
    This is a problem that affects quite a few users, but EA won't help me since I'm running Vista (which isn't supported officially). Equally, the C&C forums don't seem to have any solutions which work. So, I'm stuck having paid Ј20 for a game which refuses to function....
    Where should I start with this? I'm happy for the disc to stay in the drive when I play, so I don't think I need to copy a complete disc image to my drive (or do I?). Playing around with no-CD cracks does get a few of the games working, so the problem is definitely with the copy protection, not Vista compatibility. I have 2 Sony DVD-rom drives.
    Please excuse my ignorance - if someone can get me started then I'm happy to go away and play around after that!
    Cheers!

Why should the game run with a copy when it doesn't even run with the original disc
    The reason why some games run with a crack probably (I don't know whether they do, but if you say so...) could be that the copy protection (driver) is not Vista compatible (and since a crack doesn't contain the copy protection the game won't get into trouble).
    Anyway copying your disc won't help you to get the game running.

PS: Cracktalk ain't allowed on this board

Comment

Originally Posted by xileF1337 View Post
      PS: Cracktalk ain't allowed on this board
      Sorry for any confusion - I'm NOT advocating cracks or copying - in fact, I'm looking for a solution to my problem which avoids using them.