Is it legal?????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it legal?????

Is it legal for me to make images of MY games and put themon a virtual drive??????

Most countries allow personal backups, but I'm no legal expert :mrgreen:

Comment

So long as you own the original and the image is made without modifying the program and used for genuine back-up purposes, yes it's legal in most countries.

(Note: Can't say all because whilst I might be regarded as a legal expert insofar as my own country is concerned, at least by some kind people :wink: :lol: , no-one can be familiar with the laws of every country. )

Comment

@ philamber
        I was under the impression that Aussie laws had changed recently allowing backups only if the title specific EULA said so.
        No longer a general 'Yes a 1:1 is permitted'
        [Edit] I could be wrong though [/Edit]

Cheers
        Goodnight Brave Warrior, Goodnight Monster-land..

Comment

G'day Kitna.

There have been some recent changes to the Copyright Act 1968 (Oz) but, for practical purposes, it's still ok to copy a computer program that you "own" (i.e. have an original licence for) for back-up purposes so long as you don't modify the program in making the copy.

Note though that back-up exception does not apply to audio or movies and recent amendments have made that expressly clear.

Cheers.

Comment

Well... this SHOULD BE LEGAL :!:

Have you EVER tried to get a replacement CD from a game distributor after you scratched your game CD beyond repair?

It's about as easy as trying to save for a house deposit, in Sydney. Almost freaking impossible!! :evil:

Daemon-Tools is a god send for gamers like myself, who like to keep their game CD's safe and sound. I recon companies like Sony ( who bought you the blight on the world, that is SecuRom 5.0 :x ) should get down from their ivory tower and start showing some support for programs like this, which helps the consumer protect their gaming purchases.

Comment