PDA

View Full Version : Apologies



sYk0
31.10.2007, 07:42
Hi to all the supporters of Y.A.S.U and DAEMON-Tools,

I would like to apologize for my long leave of absence, things at home and work have been a little hectic over the last couple of months...

I know have some free time again to work on a newer version of Y.A.S.U... ;)

I'll keep you all updated on the progress of the mewer version... :D

Kind Regards,
sYk0

Hanschke
31.10.2007, 08:26
thats nice :D

Kinlaadare
31.10.2007, 08:34
You don't have to appologize, since Y.A.S.U. is made on your free time... no free time, no Y.A.S.U.

Reef
31.10.2007, 12:56
Good to hear from you sYk0 ;) Still I wish there was some way to donate to you for all the good work you've done for us. Without YASU we'd be quite desperate :D

Quake
31.10.2007, 13:32
That's cool and great sYk0:D

evlncrn8
31.10.2007, 15:46
yup, ditto

LooDos
31.10.2007, 19:17
great to have u back sYk0! your work is always greatly apreciated.

ImPsyco
01.11.2007, 00:42
WElcome Back! You dont need to apologise to us, we should be thanking you!! for returning, hoping for the new Y.A.S.U to release soon

Good Luck!

chrashoverraid
04.11.2007, 19:14
thnx sYk0
you're doing great!

MarioJP
06.11.2007, 07:53
I don't know about you guys but i feel that this time around and i hate to admit this. but I think we lost the drm battle for many of the following reasons.

1.Copy protections keeps getting updated too fast on patch releases and it is getting stronger or harder to bypass. Especially with newer titles.

2.Getting tired of the waiting game to just play the game without the disc. Especially games like Crysis. Which would be a new title to look forward to upon release.

Don't want to even imagine what kind of drm that game is going to have. whichever the case might be i am just going to install it and leave the disc in the drive and forget about it untill i played and beat the game or had enough of it.

thats why its better to have more than one CD/DVD drive just pop in the disc and forget it. its not like you be using the drive for something else. Or if you do need to use it just use the second one or third one problem solved the end.

Thats my strategy for now untill i see a permanent solution that can make both sides happy. This cat & mouse game is getting ridiculous.

Thats one thing i like about steam it uses no optical disc to play and yet its legit you buy and download off their server and register the game, and then you backup your registration file and your good to go.

3. I also feel that most has given in because i am one of them i lost my patience with these copy protections. As per new copy protection being released its getting longer and longer to bypass and that drives me nuts :mad:

And i wouldn't be surprise to see a 1.10 patch knowing ea. why because i notice couple of bugs in 1.09 patch so this game is not done being patched yet. At least the game only verifies the disc and everything loads off the hard drive where as consoles have to load off bluray or hd-dvd or dual layer dvd.

And lastly these gaming companies better be taking notes what valve is doing because it works and makes both sides happy. By nature of the PC you really don't need a disc to play they just want to force that upon us to prevent piracy which thats fine and all but this is not the way to do this. I hope there can be a solution to this where you can just solely play without the disc and yet making it difficult to pirate.

your loyal PC Gamer

Blazkowicz
06.11.2007, 10:12
It is no drm (digital rights management). You are referring to copy protection.

Jito463
06.11.2007, 13:55
Technically speaking, you're right Blazkowicz. However, philosophically speaking, DRM is not an entirely innacurate term to refer to copy protections. They do, after all, manage your rights to use the program/game by forcing you to use the original disc, and they are a digital solution. So in it's own way, it is a form of DRM, even if it isn't actually a true DRM.

evlncrn8
06.11.2007, 16:55
yup have to agree there, disk based drm (license is the disk kind of), key file / registry / activation drm (like dt pro kind of) and so on.. all variations on drm.. still drm none the less

chrashoverraid
06.11.2007, 18:19
i don't mind getting my original disks, when i make a image and it doesn't work because of the copy protection, it will work a few months later.
so the first weeks i am playing with original discs and after that i use my images.
i think thats a good solution.
i don't like the steam thing, i want something solid, a game with a disc and book(which i can read when the game installs).

Kane3162
06.11.2007, 21:24
I hate to be the one to say it but I totally hate CD/DVD's.......

Now you have to understand that I work for a LAN center as the Head Tech.... for so long Daemon Tools has been their for us (and any other lan center in existence) and with YASU it makes offering such a wide variety of games possible

However in order to make the most slick gaming pc's NO CD/DVD ROM's are in use here... we have 80 SFF PC's 40 copies of every game we offer (and lic management) and as such not having a working YASU or Daemon Tools is not really something we can live with... :(

For being Head Tech I make shit and always am scraping by otherwise I would love to donate like $200 to sYk0 to fuel his desire for this project... so please don't let this die otherwise you kill any LAN Center's chance of being fully functional and a great place to be for all their gaming needs!....


(already C&C3 with latest patch we have had to temporarily remove from our games list along with a few others... BF2142 being another one with its halfway map loading glitch with the EA Downloader files copied....)

As always BIG thanks to sYk0 and the Daemon Tools Team please keep it alive maybe one day the gaming industry will realize the folly they are partaking in... (like EA's latest overview of how the gaming industry isn't going to continue working as it currently is)


Thanks

nXLevL/EMPulse `W1nGZ3r0`

Jito463
07.11.2007, 00:35
All of the Valve games, and some of the 3rd party games that are published by Valve through Steam, can be bought in the store and then registered through Steam so you can have both. A physical copy, and then a disk-less method of playing the game. Personally, I love Steam's distribution model. I think they're one of the few who got it right. It's not perfect (their policy states they can block accounts if you're caught sharing, and they consider it sharing even if it's in the same house), but overall, I think it's a good system.

PegHorse
07.11.2007, 01:20
Copy protections and users who are tired to play with original disk is a digital WAR because they don't trust us but we have to trust them... ha ha ha...

Unfortunately the WAR will never end.
One time YASU will win, then the protection will be enforced, then YASU will be too and etc...
Its an infinite loop.

Well true fact : Usually before to buy DT Pro, i didn't care about Protection who require original disc so i given to my Player and it was ok.
BUT, after broken some original disc because using it a lots! There i started to become seriously FURIOUS against PROTECTION COPY.

Look, about Starcraft from Blizzard, i bought 3 original disc...
About Warcraft 3 Phrozen Throne, i did same...
THIS IS ABUSED. And i wanna fight against that !
Yes because when your disc are broken, you request to them to send you another one, its also a War to convince them to send new one to you ! At what price ? Call prices are expensives...

Welcome to Paranoid World, a World where no one trust each other. That's the result, that's why Copy Protection...


So thanks for helping us with Y.A.S.U and i wish you Good Luck and Courage :)

ß
07.11.2007, 09:43
cod4 -> sdv4.81

Terramex
07.11.2007, 10:12
cod4 -> sdv4.81What's the content of that here :confused:
It has already been posted in the right section
(http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/showpost.php?p=95926&postcount=32)

ß
07.11.2007, 13:50
nothing, it was an error, then it was too late to delete.

MarioJP
07.11.2007, 18:50
I also think the purpose of copy protection is to also wear out your "original disc so you can buy it again". Whats next you have 1 year to play the game before the disc begins to rot after you have open it and breaking the warranty seal in the process lol. And there excuse will be "in one year you will not be thinking about that game since there be great titles to play" this better not become a reality or you looking at lots of angry customers

xileF1337
08.11.2007, 15:36
I also think the purpose of copy protection is to also wear out your "original disc so you can buy it again". Whats next you have 1 year to play the game before the disc begins to rot after you have open it and breaking the warranty seal in the process lol. And there excuse will be "in one year you will not be thinking about that game since there be great titles to play" this better not become a reality or you looking at lots of angry customers

I think they won't realize this until they see those (ex)customers :mad:

This is also (one of) the reason(s) why I don't like Steam very much: If, for whatever reason, Valve would shut down their servers you couldn't play your payed game anymore. That's why I prefer a disc without any crappy registration scheme on it: I can play the game whenever I want, and not only when someone wants me to can ;)

@Topic: Great news, can't wait to see the next version of your amazing tool sYk0 ;)

moloch200
19.11.2007, 21:51
@Topic: Great news, can't wait to see the next version of your amazing tool sYk0 ;)
Oh yes, me too. :)

A.Hecka
24.11.2007, 10:17
I know have some free time again to work on a newer version of Y.A.S.U... ;)
I'll keep you all updated on the progress of the mewer version... :D
Kind Regards,
sYk0

As the DT Developers are a bit quiet atm I would like to ask whatґs going on with Yasu. Any progress against the latest lamelists?

Bought more originals the last few days then in the whole year... But I am afraid of patching them to get an only-from-disc-running piece of code...

Thx

LocutusofBorg
24.11.2007, 13:07
Wait for next DT Pro update which should be available very
soon!

ß
25.11.2007, 19:22
Wait for next DT Pro update which should be available very
soon!

and what about dt ? or is it abandoned ?

LocutusofBorg
25.11.2007, 21:42
why should we abandon DT? First DT Pro of course, but new
DT release will for sure come after DT Pro release. But as usual,
it will take some time as our main focus is now the customers

ß
26.11.2007, 06:58
well i use dt pro to make images and it's on the net system for activation. to play i use dt. on that setup i have no net so dt pro is useless. and dt is smaller and just right, but if it takes months to catch up it's no good. as for customers, well can we now pretty much say that there will never be a customer's dt, the one that was going to come back, without the serchbar ? that being the case why is the following not possible ? make it so that the dt agent (which is really just dt lite) can be installed by itself. that way, i could install just that on my gaming setup, and i would assume it wouldn't require activation just for that module. and since only customers are supposed to have dt pro this shouldn't be an issue.

mastermind
26.11.2007, 15:43
Because a pre-activated copy of DT Pro would be too simple to pirate.

I fully accept and understand the activation scheme, but I think it's a bit too harsh that the license only applies to one (1) computer/installation, as many of us utilize multiple computers. When DT Pro is newer and more blacklisting resistant than DT Lite (which will probably be the typical case except for immediately after a new DT Lite release), many customers must consider buying an additional DT Pro license. In order to be qualified for new updates for several years, it's actually quite expensive (IMO) to buy two DT Pro licenses.

For me personally, it was very cheap, because I'm an old DT customer, and got DT Pro Advanced with 5 years of updates without additional costs. But for new customers, I'm thinking that this is a little expensive.

ß
28.11.2007, 01:02
are you talking to me ?

because nowhere did i say a dt pro. i said the dt agent should be able to be installed by itself from within the dt pro package.
so when this new dt pro arrives i would install the dt pro agent (dt lite) on my gaming setup that does not have internet. this way i would have a newer dt lite (which is free anyway so there are no issues)

Terramex
15.12.2007, 13:58
and dt is smaller and just right, but if it takes months to catch up it's no good.It took them 9 days. Quite tolerable :D

Kane3162
29.12.2007, 03:58
yeah expensive is right.... we where looking at getting DT Pro for our LAN center... all 84 systems... WAY to expensive and since we had put out $2000-$3000 for farstones VD Pro and couldn't get a refund i don't see us using DT Pro for a very long time....

ß
30.03.2008, 06:56
is there any news on yasu ??? i ask because there may be a topic i'm not aware of ? has something been announced before ? will there be another yasu anytime soon ? :confused:

shelomo1234
08.04.2008, 00:10
Did DT team abandon Yasu tool?
What about a new version for this great tool?
there are new versions of securom and safedisc which are no longer work with yasu 1.4.

Blazkowicz
08.04.2008, 09:27
You don't even need YASU at the moment.

ß
12.04.2008, 19:16
You don't even need YASU at the moment.

why would you say this ??? name any current* safedisc game that runs without disconnecting drives for the majority of people ??

funny how you and everybody** else haven't made a reply to this (http://www2.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/dt-lite-never-again-suport-t19849.html) post. :rolleyes:



* from around november '07 onwards (safedisc >4.81)
**including you know who

Blazkowicz
12.04.2008, 19:26
Every safedisc game is running fine without disconnecting here, but i'm talking about DT Pro ;)
And i only replied to a post which hasn't state which version the user is using (Lite or Pro).

Also note this is only my personal opinion.

ß
12.04.2008, 20:06
backpedal faster, maybe i won't notice...
why don't you post your personal opinion in my other thread i linked to ?

Terramex
13.04.2008, 19:11
why would you say this ??? name any current* safedisc game that runs without disconnecting drives for the majority of people ??
Just like you i can't make representative statements.
Though knowing workarounds aren't valid methods for everyone:
On many (most ?) rigs SD 4.81/4.85 run fine in vSCSI with optical IDE drives deactivated with Alcohol's EDM system (also included in free Alcohol 52%) or Starforce Nightmare. No "disconnecting" needed.

Have you ever considered there might be no lasting generic method to hide optical IDE drives without the need of deactivating them ?
Maybe DT developement just don't like the idea of having to deactivate/activate hardware ?
But that's just another personal guess ;)


P.S.: when testing Safedisc always reboot system after a failed attempt

ß
14.04.2008, 06:08
Have you ever considered there might be no lasting generic method to hide optical IDE drives without the need of deactivating them ?
Maybe DT developement just don't like the idea of having to deactivate/activate hardware ?


and that's ok, what some fail to realize is that i'm just pointing out the obvious. that doesn't make me a dt hater, indeed i'm a dt lover.

so what it comes down to, regardless of reason, is that current dt lite is now much waker then it was before. it can not play any current safedisc games, in a normal system, without help.

assassin's creed is another new and big title just released that uses safedisc. (seems that ubisoft may be going back to safedisc from securom ?? rainbow six: las vegas 2 is also allegedly using safedisc instead of securom, i haven't got it yet as it's not out here. anyway i do hope ubisoft go back to using safedisc.)

also i asked if yasu is anywhere near releasing a new version in the yasu thread, so let's keep it on topic. it's been since last year that a new version was released when before it was a lot more frequent. yes we heard the main author had a minor boo boo in a car park or such, and he's working on dt pro, but dt lite needs a new yasu to be able to run the 2nd biggest protection scheme available without users having to disconnect drives. and i haven't used starforce nightmare since the days of it back when, but i doubt sata drives can be disabled like eide could. by that i mean that as long as the drive has the data/power cable connected windows can still "see" it from the bios. also due to some blacklisting there's no need to have alcohol and dt lite installed at the same time, so the idea of using the alcohol edm is rather moot in my view.

...and so, i ask because there is no official answer, as usual. would yasu author or dt staff make a statement that yasu is dead or whatever no more questions from me would be forthcoming regarding the matter. alas i don't know, ergo my question.

Terramex
14.04.2008, 14:38
also due to some blacklisting there's no need to have alcohol and dt lite installed at the same time, so the idea of using the alcohol edm is rather moot in my view.
Do you know of any direct blacklisting by Sony or Macrovision when Alcohol's emulations/virtual drives aren't in use ?