PDA

View Full Version : How to remove daemon tools search?



stoppingby
23.12.2007, 17:01
So I installed the latest version, not in the slightest bit expecting that they would add somethign so underhanded with their software. I don't check this site daily and my past experiences with daemon tools would never have made me think to check for something like this.

None the less, since installing the new daemon tools, my Internet explorer home page has been changed to daemon's search page. When I try to change it back to what I had previously, despite being on the administrator account, it tells me I do not have sufficient permission to access IE's options.

Not only this, when I try to type in a url to any webpages, it gives me an error. The only way I can go to a web page is by using this search tool and clicking on the relevant result.

As you can imagine, this is extremely less than ideal. I have since uninstalled daemon tools but it has not fixed my problem with Internet Explorer. I am hoping someone can tell me how to remove this software from my system, without having to a system rollback.

Jito463
24.12.2007, 14:46
Try installing 4.11.1 and uncheck the Search Bar during installation.

Alco
27.12.2007, 18:01
In DT Lite 4.11 there is an optional DT Panel (not DT Search Panel).

We will add there a capability to search for image files on user PC using this search field.
Also via DT Panel users can get access to Mount'n'Drive manager.

It is also planned to add to DT Panel some other useful features (plugins)


> since installing the new daemon tools, my Internet explorer >home page has been changed to daemon's search page.

Users are offered during installation to choose www.daemon-search.com as their default web browser home page and also choose as their default search provider (if you do NOT want support DT team you can simply not select this features during installation)

>Not only this, when I try to type in a url to any webpages, it >gives me an error. The only way I can go to a web page is by >using this search tool and clicking on the relevant result.

What kind of error do you get? Could you please specify exactly?

wellumies
25.01.2008, 11:04
I installed Daemon Tools to my work laptop, because Microsoft instructed to do so, so I can mount an image of their Visual Studio.

During Daemon Tools install I did not notice that the "search tool" was selected.

Now I have uninstalled Daemon Tools and still this daemon search is pestering my internet explorer.

Many of our intranet webapplications use home page and now all these applications are broken because this mallware. And I do consider this mallware, if it breaks your other software from working.

I have gone through windows registry and running processes and I can't find the process that is changing the IE homepage to daemon-search continously.

I think Daemon Tools is a great software, but no responsible group seeks support/donations using mallware.

Jito463
25.01.2008, 17:23
All the search-bar/adware options are deselectable during setup. You are not forced to install them. Having said that, you can also uninstall them after the fact from the Add/Remove Programs wizard. The adware is listed under WhenU.

Jackal912
28.03.2008, 20:42
I have this problem too, but WhenU isn't on add/remove programs - so I can't remove it!..

Blazkowicz
29.03.2008, 02:38
Search for Advantage in add/remove programs.

Also just click on the arrow in in internet explorer next to daemon search and select something else.

Regarding start page: Just enter your start page in tools/internet options.

Underheaven
29.03.2008, 02:49
I have this problem too, but WhenU isn't on add/remove programs - so I can't remove it!..
WhenU is not used anymore in the latest version of DAEMON Tools.

edit: oops Blazkowicz beat me to the reply, I'll direct you to his post.

rh1n0
24.04.2008, 17:03
Regarding start page: Just enter your start page in tools/internet options.
After reboot the main page of IE and firefox changes back to daemonsearch.
I installed and unintalled different versions of daemon tools with no effect.
I checked my whole HD for tags with deamon or WhenU. Also nothing there.
I checked my system with antivir, sofos, adaware--> nothing
I also tried to change the start page in the regestry, but after reboot the same problem appears again---> startpage daemonsearch.com.
Is there still no solution to get rid of this startpage problem??
thank
Rh1n0

LocutusofBorg
25.04.2008, 01:11
Please make sure that you removed the adware that is bundled
with DAEMON Tools. Check your control-panel and remove it,
then the problem is gone, e.g.:


Search for Advantage in add/remove programs.

Also just click on the arrow in in internet explorer next to daemon search and select something else.

Regarding start page: Just enter your start page in tools/internet options.

as stated above by blazkovicz.

rh1n0
26.04.2008, 14:04
hi LocutusofBorg,

I already did that, but there were no entries. I think I removed them already weeks ago.
I also clicked next to deamonsearch and selected another page.
And as I said, Iґm entering a new page after every reboot in tools/internet options.

At the moment I really donґt know what else to try.


List what I already tried:

Search for Advantage in add/remove programs.
-->no entries

click on the arrow in in internet explorer next to daemon search and select something else.
-->remains at the new entry but start page switches back to
daemontools

Regarding start page: Just enter your start page in tools/internet options.
--->Iґm doing this after each reboot. switches back as soon as Iґm starting may laptop again.

changing the startpage entry in the regestry.
--> switches back after reboot

Installing and unstalling the newest version of daemontools,
also the light version with all different kinds of install konfigurations.
--->still the daemonsearch.com

testing may system with several programs
antivir, kasperski, sofos, adaware.
---> they found nothing

I think I tried everything I read in this forum, but till now
I havenґt had any success.

Is there someting I forgot or sometiing else I could try?

thanks rh1n0

station0420
14.07.2008, 17:08
I am having the same issue and it is keeping me out of my juniper VPN network, very not cool! This bit of mess is malware and should be reported as such. If any of you have any tips on how to get rid of it please reply to this of email me. I have searched my whole computer for Advantage and WhenU with no success, they are not in add/remove programs either nor is any program on my computer that is listed under Daemon as the manufacturer

mant
19.07.2008, 18:28
I take it by the lack of advice on this and other threads that there is NO WAY to remove the Daemon Search tool from Firefox or IE?

Is this correct?

I do not want to reinstall firefox and lose all of my bookmarks and extensions. So will someone please help us with this.

Before you re-post the exact same thing again, let me say I uninstalled in control panel, searched and deleted all Daemon-related programs form the hard drive and restarted the computer many times. And still I have to search through Daemon whenever I right click.
Someone please help.

Jito463
22.07.2008, 22:32
As I said in this post (http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/f33/search-toolbar-21646/) (at the bottom), I can't speak for FF, but in IE the toolbar is always there. DTools just changes the default search engine to their own. Are you sure that FF doesn't have one by default? Opera has one even, and it just makes sense that FF would, too.

*EDIT*
Also, did you read the stickied post (http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/f33/tutorial-removing-all-search-toolbars-firefox-ie-21703/)?

jedijokerjones
07.09.2008, 11:40
K well i had same problem uninstalled daemon tools...then realized when u customize the toolbar in firefox...u can drag the search bar out into the toolbar folder thing. as far as home page fixes....no clue

piiippaaa
18.02.2009, 13:00
Hello!
After many attempts, i've found that it is easy:
just start Firefox in "safe mode" (Start menu > Programs > Mozilla > Firefox (safe mode)), after closing all firefox windows, and select to reset all features, except bookmarks, then restart firefox. Fot IE7, choose another default search provider (e.g. Google) and then remove daemontools' one.

Enjoy!

brh986
02.10.2009, 21:17
Guys I also having this f#*RU*REW daemon search bullshit toolbar in the top right hand corner of my firefox. I don't know where it came from. I don't have daemon tools installed, i don't have WhereU and I don't have Advantage either. I never installed any of this crap it just showed up. Tonight is the first time I noticed it. How do i get rid of it? I tried what's recommended below and it didn't help at all. It jus tremoved a bunch of stuff I wanted and left "Daemon Search"! Please help



Hello!
After many attempts, i've found that it is easy:
just start Firefox in "safe mode" (Start menu > Programs > Mozilla > Firefox (safe mode)), after closing all firefox windows, and select to reset all features, except bookmarks, then restart firefox. Fot IE7, choose another default search provider (e.g. Google) and then remove daemontools' one.

Enjoy!

Qwynbleid
03.10.2009, 15:10
Guys I also having this f#*RU*REW daemon search bullshit toolbar in the top right hand corner of my firefox. I don't know where it came from. I don't have daemon tools installed, i don't have WhereU and I don't have Advantage either. I never installed any of this crap it just showed up. Tonight is the first time I noticed it. How do i get rid of it? I tried what's recommended below and it didn't help at all. It jus tremoved a bunch of stuff I wanted and left "Daemon Search"! Please help
My search engine is at default google but I can click on the image at the left of the search bar 2 select another search engine or manage search engines where I am then able 2 remove a search engine...
Perhaps it will work for you, I am using FF v3.0.14.

Fawnet
07.10.2009, 00:32
Hi everybody,
To get rid of the Daemonsearch page, you need to use a free utility called HijackThis.
HijackThis - Trend Micro USA (http://free.antivirus.com/hijackthis/)

Download it and install it, and click the button that says "Do A System Scan Only". A new window will open, and the utility will generate a long list of items.

Now, please be careful from here on in--you only need to remove one thing! You are looking for an entry that contains the phrase: "http://www.daemon-search.com/startpage".
Here is how the Daemonsearch entry looked on my machine:

http://i38.tinypic.com/ojjs4y.jpg

When you find it, put a check mark in the small box on the left-hand side. Now click the button that says, "Fix Checked". A confirmation window will appear, asking if you want to delete or repair the item; click "Yes". The homepage hijacker is now gone from your system.

Now, go to Add/Remove Programs, and check once more for the program entries mentioned elsewhere in this thread. If you don't want the Daemon Tools Toolbar, remove it now.

Now, open your browser(s) and change your homepage. On Firefox and IE, you do this by clicking "Tools" and then "Options" or "Internet Options". Now, change your home page setting to a blank page, or Google, or anything you like--but you must change your homepage, because right now it probably has the DaemonSearch page URL stuck in there somewhere. Make sure the changes are applied, then close your browsers and reboot your machine.

Once Windows has restarted, fire up your browser. Everything should be back to normal.

lolzlolz
28.01.2011, 02:04
just re-choose your homepage. worked for me in firefox

scytzoh
01.02.2011, 22:08
why cant someone just tell us how to uninstall this ..why did they even make it this difficult.. and yes we realize we could of de-selected the option to install....but thats besides the point...for whatever reason we didnt so tell us how to fix it... why did they make it like this anyway im sure they will lose quite a few customers because of this

Webberjo
18.04.2011, 04:33
Found out how to remove DAEMON Tools search engine on Google Chrome. It might be similar for Firefox and/or Internet Explorer.

1. Click the wrench in the top right corner. (Probably Tools on Firefox)
2. Click Options.
3. Click Manage Search Engines.
4. Hover over the search engine you want and click Make default on the right. (I use Google)
5. Delete the ones you don't want by clicking the X in the same spot.

Hope this helps.

jeric4vx
24.05.2011, 05:45
In th google chrome browser
>>>>>
>>>
>>
go to> Setting> Option> search>



and select your desire search engine<<<<<<
<<<<<<<<
^_^
.................................................. ............