dvd burner emulator

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dvd burner emulator

Guys, I'm really brand new at these types of programs etc and i'm not sure if there is a tool that will help me.

I use a file conversion program that wants to burn the resulting file. my laptop does not have a burner, just a DVD rom drive and the conversion program won't work because it doesn't detect a burner. I borrow an external dvd burner but am only able to do this now and again.

I was wondering if it is possible to make my laptop think it has a DVD burner that the conversion program will detect so that I can still use the program when I'm not able to borrow the burner and save the conversion on my hard drive until I can burn it to disc later.

I'm not sure if daemon tools will do this.
    Much thanks if you can help.

gcharry

http://www.daemon-help.com/index.php?id=faq#c650 :

Will DAEMON Tools emulate a CDRW or DVD-RW?

No, for sure not as this doesn't make any sense. We cannot see any reason why a writing device should be emulated, even for testing purposes to see if a burned image would work. Burn to a RW media if you need to test. The main problem in emulating (apart from it's senselessnes) a burning device is that every writer has different abilities. And most programs usually support each writer on individual basis, so they will not work with virtual burner without special support.

Comment

Just search on Google for "Virtual CD-RW".

Comment

possible reasons

well .. gee .. lets see ......

1. my problem for a start
        2. for ppl who don't have the money to upgrade an old laptop to change from a dvd rom to a burner (like myself)
        3 for ppl who may want to use a backup program over night and then burn the backup to disc in the morning or at their convenience