PDA

View Full Version : system crash when i disable drives



nithum
15.06.2008, 13:00
my windows xp system crashes when i set the number of devices from '2 drives' to '1 drive'. please help...

Blazkowicz
15.06.2008, 14:58
XP with which Service Pack? X86 or X64?
Daemon Tools version?
Security software disabled?
Do you have a minidump file available (e. g. c:\windows\minidump)? If yes, please upload it to some file hoster like megaupload or rapidshare and post the link here.

nithum
15.06.2008, 18:50
xp service pack 2.. x86.. daemon tools ver 4.1.. now im having an extra problem!! when i try to load an iso now the system is crashing!! :confused:

nithum
16.06.2008, 03:25
windows xp sp 2, x86 daemon tools ver 4.10...... now its become very bad... the system crashes when i try to mount an iso... :confused: i tried reinstalling daemon tools, but still the system crashed when i tried to mount the iso..... :confused: and it all started after i tried changing number of drives from 2 to 1!!

Blazkowicz
16.06.2008, 06:45
Update Daemon Tools to 4.12.3 if it's Lite version and if it's Pro Version update to 4.12.0223.

If that doesn't help, try to update to SP3.

Minidump file?

nithum
16.06.2008, 10:08
a few examples of the minidump files generated due to this...


RapidShare: Easy Filehosting (http://rapidshare.com/files/122796171/Mini061508-04.dmp.html)
RapidShare: Easy Filehosting (http://rapidshare.com/files/122796359/Mini061608-02.dmp.html)
RapidShare: Easy Filehosting (http://rapidshare.com/files/122796460/Mini061508-01.dmp.html)

Blazkowicz
16.06.2008, 16:04
Problem seems to be caused by drvmcdb.sys.

Try updating your Sonic software. If that doesn't help, try uninstalling the Sonic software and after a computer restart try setting drive amount from 2 to 1.

nithum
18.06.2008, 08:19
Im sorry. But what is this Sonic software?

nithum
18.06.2008, 08:22
Sorry just found a sonic software folder in my drive though I dont remember installing anything like that.

nithum
18.06.2008, 08:33
Realized that it came along with the camcorder software i recently installed. :) Incidentally the problem occurred shortly after that. Thank you for the help.