PDA

View Full Version : Version 4.30.0301 broke PDVD8 playback



Dabmox
20.07.2008, 21:38
I installed Daemon version 4.30.0301 and now PDVD8 won't play my iso images on scsi virtual drives. When I try to play a mounted image PDVD8 recognizes the iso as a blu-ray and shows "play" but shortly after it says "stopped" and throws up a window that says: "CyberLink PowerDVD requires perodic updates to continue playing back some new disc titles. Would you like to update now?" It doesn't matter what iso I mount as the result is the same. Sometimes I see "file mode" flashed up when PDVD is getting ready to try to play the iso. This can't be right.

I'm not having any trouble playing the original disc using PDVD8 in the physical player at all. I'd sure like to roll back and try the old version of Daemon Tools Pro and see if this fixes it. Any suggestions?

Dabmox
21.07.2008, 02:40
I should add that all my iso's are Blu-Ray images that I've played many times before.

Development
21.07.2008, 02:45
And what data format and size have your ISOs?

Dabmox
21.07.2008, 05:18
And what data format and size have your ISOs?

They run between about 17G and 45G. They are all blu-ray. I tried another virtual drive program and they all work when mounted with it. It's got to be an issue with this latest release and the prior one worked just fine.

Dabmox
21.07.2008, 14:07
All of my ISO images are decrypted and I tried DT Lite, in desperation, but that doesn't work either.

I'm not having any trouble playing the original disc using PDVD8 in the physical combo drive at all.

I'd sure like to roll back and try the old version of Daemon Tools but their key system won't let me do that. I had to revoke the license to my previous version so I can't. A little tech support to allow me to roll back to the previous version would be great! ;) ;)

Underheaven
21.07.2008, 14:13
Maybe the Blue-Ray copy protection has been updated. This could mean Power DVD was patched to prevent playback.

LIGHTNING UK!
21.07.2008, 18:23
It would appear that DAEMON Tools has been updated to report the BD-ROM profile on large ISO images (not sure what the cut off point is - it's 1GB for CD -> DVD but I don't know about DVD -> BD)).

PowerDVD probably wants/expects AACS on BD-ROM discs.

Dabmox
22.07.2008, 02:42
As a final check I rolled back to a previous version (4.12.4) of DT and every thing is fine. I'm sure a patch will be coming along soon . . .

Development
22.07.2008, 06:54
Yes, it seems because of BDROM profile. It is not a bug but PowerDVD8 "feature" - atm you can try PowerDVD 7.3 which plays fine.

Dabmox
22.07.2008, 15:02
Yes, it seems because of BDROM profile. It is not a bug but PowerDVD8 "feature" - atm you can try PowerDVD 7.3 which plays fine.

Are you saying that this is just the way it's going to be? I just ditched PowerDVD 7.3 because of some bad behavior and upgraded to V8 as all was great - but now this . . .

Underheaven
22.07.2008, 15:50
Are you saying that this is just the way it's going to be? I just ditched PowerDVD 7.3 because of some bad behavior and upgraded to V8 as all was great - but now this . . .
If new DAEMON Tools uses BD-ROM profile, what profile did the old DAEMON Tools use? Normal DVD?

Jito463
22.07.2008, 22:52
Interestingly, PowerDVD doesn't use the Vista HDCP capability, they have their own built-in. So it's possible that another player may work better (WinDVD or Nero Showtime).

Development
22.07.2008, 23:52
If new DAEMON Tools uses BD-ROM profile, what profile did the old DAEMON Tools use? Normal DVD?

Yes, older version just reported DVD.

Underheaven
26.07.2008, 05:24
atm you can try PowerDVD 7.3 which plays fine.

tbessie
27.07.2008, 10:16
Despite what the above poster says, after installing the latest update, I am unable to play Blu-Ray rips using PowerDVD 7.

I get the message "A critical component of the player requires periodic updates. New movies could fail to play ... " etc. and even after PowerDVD 7 thinks it's downloaded an update to the AACS keys, it continues to give that message.

It appears it's not able to read some info properly from the mounted image.

Is anyone looking into this?

- Tim

Underheaven
28.07.2008, 07:03
Is anyone looking into this?

I just quoted Development for you which means: yes.

Sacatre
29.07.2008, 18:48
Just jumping in here, I am experiencing the same issue myself. I had been using DT Lite but just reinstalled my system and redownloaded with the new 4.3x version which as reported does not play nicely with PowerDVD.

I just purchased DT Pro with the hopes that I could at least get a link to a 4.12 version which I could use to tide me over but I have not been able to find such a link yet.

When I downloaded the Basic trial from the website it was 4.12 which worked, but then I had no way (that I'm aware of) to enter my registration info so that version is always on a 10 day timer.

Any help is much appreciated.

It does trouble me that the whole time the solution we've all been using only worked because PDVD thought the movie was a DVD instead of a BD. This means it would be all too easy for them to patch yet again and kill our solution for playing movies we already own through our HTPCs. :(

tbessie
29.07.2008, 19:55
I just quoted Development for you which means: yes.

Ah, didn't see who you were quoting. :-)

In any case, they were wrong, because there are also cases where it doesn't work with PowerDVD 7, either. This appears to have to do with the emulation mode Daemon Tools is using when mounting Blu-Rays; according to the SlySoft forums (AnyDVD HD subforum), Daemon Tools used to mount Blu-Rays emulated as DVDs, but now mounts them emulated as BD-ROMs (as of .301), which can break Blu-Ray playback (possibly only if the BD had had AACS removed by AnyDVD). A fix is suggested where an MDS file is created from the ISO file, and the booktype changed to BD-R, I believe.

In any case, I've had some email with support (is that you? :-) ) where I mentioned this stuff. Just putting it here for everyone's benefit.

- Tim

Underheaven
30.07.2008, 20:58
I'm not one of the people that answer's emails. Ok, I hadn't heard about the manual MDS file workaround so here's a link for anyone else reading:

Daemon Tools V4.30.0301 stops PDVD8 playback (http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=18627) @ Slysoft forums



A theory... I assume it works for you, because you use the SamuriHL method: DT emulates a BD-ROM, AnyDVD changes this to BD-R, works with PowerDVD. Mounting a decrypted image without AnyDVD will fail, as PowerDVD sees a BD-ROM without AACS. I don't think AnyDVD will change the media type, if the disc (image) doesn't have AACS.





locoeng just referred me to this thread to save him acting as the middle man!

The 'Create DVD MDS File' feature always makes MDS files where DT will emulate a DVD-ROM disc. So basically you don't need to do anything, it just works.

tbessie
30.07.2008, 21:43
I'm not one of the people that answer's emails. Ok, I hadn't heard about the manual MDS file workaround so here's a link for anyone else reading:

Daemon Tools V4.30.0301 stops PDVD8 playback (http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=18627) @ Slysoft forums

Thanks much!

- Tim

Development
01.08.2008, 23:37
This issue will be fixed in next version.

ß
17.08.2008, 13:41
i'll chime in here myself if that's ok ?!?
as a "fix" without much work simply make sure that anydvd is also running. so in fact i am answering the original poster here. your exact description was my exact circumstance too. so just have anydvd running in the system tray and mount the bluray image with dt pro. then open powerdvd 8 and select the movie to play from your virtual drive letter. it will load and play as normal.

jmcvitie
24.08.2008, 22:01
Today I experienced the same problem the original poster described. I upgraded to DT Lite 4.30.1 and now PDVD8 won't play my Blu-Ray ISO's mounted with DT anymore.

I have tried leaving AnyDVD running as suggested but hasn't made any difference.

A previous post mentioned that this issue would be fixed in the next version, does anyone know when this will be released?

Dabmox
25.08.2008, 13:30
Today I experienced the same problem the original poster described. I upgraded to DT Lite 4.30.1 and now PDVD8 won't play my Blu-Ray ISO's mounted with DT anymore.

I have tried leaving AnyDVD running as suggested but hasn't made any difference.

A previous post mentioned that this issue would be fixed in the next version, does anyone know when this will be released?

The short answer is that you need to create a MDS file in the same directory as your ISO file. ImgBurn will do this for you from the Tools pull-down menu. When using PDVD, from now on, you launch your movie by pointing to the MDS file instead of the ISO file.

Locemay
08.09.2008, 07:18
Creating an MDS isnt a work around for folks who use MyMovies - which will only mount ISOs.

Is there at least a download available to an older version of the software that doesnt have the problem until the problem is fixed?!

lpg
30.09.2008, 14:40
I had the same problems in this thread when I did not run Anydvd. I ripped with anydvdhd with protection on. This was the only way to get anything to play with or without slysoft running. I can now run on PDVD 7.3.

On PDVD 8.02021.56 which came out 9/11 it now aborts when I try to play a movie. Vista throws the Abort/retry/debug message.

running Vista 64
Daemon Pro Standard just bought on 9/29

GUYISO71
09.10.2008, 06:31
This issue will be fixed in next version.

Glad to hear that.

The older DTPro initializes the virtual drive as 'DVD'.
The newer DTPro initializes the virtual drive as 'HD DVD'.

This can be easily verified by opening explorer and look at 'My computer'.

PDVD7 will play HD DVD's.
PDVD8 will not play HD DVD's.

Newer BR's require PDVD8.

My preference (if it is a solution) would be to let the user
have a sticky switch(s) to permit the user to select which type of drive is being emulated when the virtual drive is initialized.

tbessie
12.10.2008, 22:40
This issue will be fixed in next version.

Just curious, but was this fixed in the recent release? I can't quite tell from the release notes.

- Tim

Blazkowicz
12.10.2008, 22:49
It should be fixed - what about trying yourself?

GUYISO71
14.10.2008, 10:59
No, it was not fixed.

Well not when I used the download
DTPro4300302Advanced.exe and use it with PDV8.

PDVD8 does not recognize HD DVD. Period!

The virtual drive created by DTPro4300302Advanced.exe
is recognized as an HD DVD regardless of what M$ OS is used (VISTA, XP, 64 or 32).

Again, this can be easily verified by opening explorer and look at 'My computer'.

Blazkowicz
14.10.2008, 11:22
What about using build 303 which fixes the problem mostly ;)

tbessie
15.10.2008, 08:52
It should be fixed - what about trying yourself?

I can do that - right now I've been using Virtual CloneDrive, which works fine for this purpose; I'd need to uninstall that and reinstall DaemonTools... just wanted to avoid the hassle of doing that (and then another uninstall/install if it doesn't work) if I don't have to. :-)

But if nobody here verifies that it works, after some time, I'll give it a try.

- Tim

GUYISO71
20.10.2008, 09:58
What about using build 303 which fixes the problem mostly ;)

Yes, build 303 functions with BR and PDVD8.

After mounting a BR iso, I looked at 'My Computer' and was informed that the virtual drive was a BD-RE.

HD-DVD's? There future is bleak regardless. But that is why I would have preferred a switch for a short while.

Thanks for the fix.

ryukrem
15.11.2008, 23:53
Apparently it is fixed in Pro version 0303.
How about a fix for Lite version?
It's been a while since updated to 4.30.1.