Licensing DAEMON TOOLS Pro

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Licensing DAEMON TOOLS Pro

I'm afraid I just wasted $28 odd dollars buying a license for Daemon tools Pro. After being a user of the lite version for several years I decided it would be a decent thing to do to buy a license.

However after doing so I find the MOST restrictive licensing model I've EVER seen on a piece of software anywhere, even more restrictive than MICROSOFT!

Not only do you restrict to a single machine (Most software vendors allow installation of two machines, desktop and laptop (Even Microsoft!)) but you then restrict it a SINGLE CONFIGURATION. I'm a developer! my machine has 32 Bit XP, 64 bit XP, 32 bit VISTA, 64 bit VISTA, Games XP and Games VISTA all installed as multiboot, all of which I run a virtual DVD drive in. I have no intention of distributing illegally any licensed software, however I do expect to be able to install it more than once on a single machine, after all, that is 'fair and reasonable use' as defined in test cases in both US and european courts.

I'm afraid you've lost me as a customer, I'll NOT be renewing my license next year, I'll be going back to DAEMON Lite. Oh actually I already have haven't I because I CAN'T INSTALL IT ON MY DEV MACHINE.

Excuse the rant but your license terms can ONLY damage you in the long term.