PDA

View Full Version : Image content cached on Vista SP1



ActungBaby
25.09.2008, 12:26
Running Daemon Tools Lite 4.30.1
Mounted an image on drive E: for testing an app on Vista.
Burned a new image same title and but with updated content.
Mounted the new image onto the same drive letter.

Checked the content and it still displayed the OLD content.
Wtf. was going on?

I suspected som kind of Vista virtualization and therefore
tried to open Daemon tools using another user and also tried to rename the image but still with the same result.

Hmm...?
I finally added a new device and mounted the image on to that and *bling* the new data was now visible.

How manu devices does DT support? :D

Blazkowicz
25.09.2008, 12:30
How manu devices does DT support? :D

Depends on the DT version. Your DT Lite version supports up to 4 drives.


Is Auto Insert Notification activated for the drives (right click on the tray icon -> Virtual CD/DVD-ROM -> select one -> Set device parameters

Also does the same also happens for physical drives?

ActungBaby
26.09.2008, 07:32
Running Daemon Tools Lite 4.30.1
Mounted an image on drive E: for testing an app on Vista.
Burned a new image same title and but with updated content.
Mounted the new image onto the same drive letter.

Checked the content and it still displayed the OLD content.
Wtf. was going on?


Problem found:
The service "Superfetch" was the problem it cached some of the files from the CD.
If possible: Daemon Tools should tell the Superfetch service not to prefetch results from the mounted image.
Otherwise disabling the Superfetch service could be a solution.

ActungBaby
29.09.2008, 13:28
Sorry...problem still persists.
Allthought Superfetch did prefetch some of the files it is not this service to blame.
Tried with and without Auto insert notification.
Tried to stop all suspect services (did not leave that manny left) but with no luck.
The only thing that works is to disable the number of devices in DT and then reenable a device. Then the content will be updated.