PDA

View Full Version : Sacred



Xanatos
28.02.2004, 00:28
Hello,

Sacred didn't work.
I think the image is ok (tested with Alcohol 120 & Blindwrite).
Blacklist?

Greetings
Xanatos

Andareed
28.02.2004, 00:37
I think it uses protect cd, which does blist dtools atm.

Xanatos
28.02.2004, 00:53
Fixed in next relase of Daemon Tools?

Greetings
Xanatos

Xanatos
28.02.2004, 00:56
I've read in the ascaron forum that all SCSI cd-roms are blacklisted.
Very stupid

greetings
Xanatos

misukin
28.02.2004, 13:48
I really tried anything....

alc is unable to create a working image aswell as bw ...

So what can one do .... wait for the next alc or daemon-tools release???

I really need help ^^

Copytrooper
28.02.2004, 14:19
Did you try to write RMPS media with Alcohol?

misukin
28.02.2004, 14:24
Yes I did!
..... did not work aswell

But the thing is I want to have a working image ... so ... It does not really matter either ^^

Copytrooper
28.02.2004, 14:33
Then you've to be patient 'till the ProtectCD issues are fixed.

Xanatos
28.02.2004, 15:19
@Copytrooper:

It it correct that all SCSI-CDROMs are blacklisted?

Is it nessacery to rewrite daemontools, alcohol, etc. to emulate an IDE drive?

greetings
Xanatos

Copytrooper
28.02.2004, 16:05
I don't know - don't have the game ...

Development
28.02.2004, 18:33
If they do so, then maybe it is time for user to return such games to the shop. And if games developers make games for PC and don't want to support all range of hardware then they better leave this market and start making games for consoles - this market is not for them!

Xanatos
28.02.2004, 18:41
:-(

Development
28.02.2004, 18:56
Also note that all RAID controllers (even IDE) work as SCSI.
SCSI is rather the way all storage devices work in Windows architecture,
then actual drive interface.

Xanatos
29.02.2004, 01:52
Yes, in the ascaron-forum it posted that cd-roms on raid-controller didn't work.

greetings
Xanatos

Development
29.02.2004, 03:00
I wish they smell the shit they sell.

Borg
29.02.2004, 10:29
Hello,

It it correct that all SCSI-CDROMs are blacklisted?
No, Daemon and Alcohol are running, it wasnґt necassary to uninstall at least on tool or somthing else. My IDE-Controller works fine too and cause no problems with the game.

However, Iґm not able to create a workable image like many others.

Greetings
Borg

Copytrooper
06.03.2004, 00:01
Will be fixed with next version :mrgreen:

bullkrul
19.03.2004, 15:31
Hi!

And (I hope this question is allowed) can we expect the new version?


Regards,
bullkrul

Copytrooper
19.03.2004, 15:52
Within the next days - so stay tuned :mrgreen:

S.P.Y.
24.03.2004, 14:33
Sacred still doesn't work. Image was created with Alcohol and ProtectCD 5 settings (DPM works fine on my drive).

Copytrooper
24.03.2004, 15:28
You've to un-install Alcohol, 'till next Alcohol version fixes the blacklist.

claire
24.03.2004, 20:17
That's very strange ...

The only burning program I've still installed is Pinnacle. I uninstalled Alcohol, cleared the registry from Alc remains, upgraded DT to 3.46 - and my Sacred image (v.1.3 / Alc 1.4.8, VOB5 settings) doesn't work at all!

It doesn't run now with the original CD either. But it had before!

On my second system, Alcohol and a bunch of burning programs is still installed - and the Sacred Original CD (v1.3) works smoothly with DT 3.44 installed. As soon if I upgrade to 3.46 nothing works anymore.

How do you explain this ?

M_A_D
24.03.2004, 23:07
try making the image at a lower read speed...

sacred works fine here now :)
quite happy about that since with the latest patches the game also failed to recognize the original cd...

Claws
24.03.2004, 23:38
M_A_D can you please be more specific, what program and what settings did you use to make your working image?

CongoMan
25.03.2004, 11:35
Hello there!

I DID make a working copy of my original sacred CD 2!!

How I did it, you ask?

Well ...

1. Make an image with alc (secuROM new 4.x/5.x)
2. Burn image with alc
3. Turn on RMPS emu on DT346
4. Insert the copy
5. Enjoy

tested with Sacred 1.0and 1.5beta

Copytrooper
25.03.2004, 12:03
Note that RMPS emulation from cd-r and running the game from mounted image are two different things due to different blacklists.

CongoMan
25.03.2004, 12:54
Yeah I know that.

But there is one thing that still interests me ...

before dt346 i wasnґt able to run the game even from the original cd.
i then uninstalled dt -> no go
uninstalled alc -> runs alright.

now (dt 346) it runs with alc installed.

does dt fix some blacklistings interfering with alc, too?

claire
25.03.2004, 12:57
2copytrooper

on my system the original cd does NOT work with DT 3.46 installed ! (and Alc is removed)

And why does it work with DT 3.44 installed ? (even if Alc is on HDD)

Can't figure this.

Copytrooper
25.03.2004, 13:17
No idea - seems to be a strange problem on your system.
Did you try with v1.51 beta yet?

claire
25.03.2004, 15:16
thx copytrooper,

I'll wait till official 1.5 is out and then try some variations ...

S.P.Y.
25.03.2004, 17:59
You've to un-install Alcohol, 'till next Alcohol version fixes the blacklist.

Really :wink: ???
I'm aware you cannot know how much I know about all these things, but believe me there's NO other virtual drive on my system and nothing else that could prevent Sacred from running! I'll try to do the image again although ALL images I ever made worked fine.

Copytrooper
25.03.2004, 19:17
Well, the image is probably ok, it's just the ProtectCD blacklist of Alcohol, and some other soft & drivers.

misukin
25.03.2004, 20:24
omg

I do not know what to do....
my sacred image worked well with new dt version
but suddenly It does not?! no patch (ver1.2)
what can I do ... no alc or comparable programs are installed but dt!


PLZ HELP .... WORKED SO WELL :lol:

S.P.Y.
25.03.2004, 20:49
Well, the image is probably ok, it's just the ProtectCD blacklist of Alcohol, and some other soft & drivers.

In this case it seems that D-Tools doesn't work around all blacklists in all cases. Especially if I also look at misukin's post!

Copytrooper
25.03.2004, 21:04
Daemon Tools can NOT workaround blacklists of other software and drivers!

M_A_D
27.03.2004, 16:11
omg

I do not know what to do....
my sacred image worked well with new dt version
but suddenly It does not?! no patch (ver1.2)
what can I do ... no alc or comparable programs are installed but dt!


PLZ HELP .... WORKED SO WELL :lol:

i have had that once too, but i unmounted and remounted the image and then it worked again...

misukin
28.03.2004, 11:36
hmmm I tried ... I even created a new image ( with alc 2nd pc)
using potect cd5 and securom new 4/5
both did not work ^^
but on my 2nd pc as said it does ...strange!

my system win2k sp4 (no alc clone cd etc)

2nd pc after uninstal of alc ..it worked (winxp sp1)

LocutusofBorg
29.03.2004, 02:03
if image works on one pc, but not on the other, it's clearly a problem with old, now blacklisted apps/registry entries/old drivers

CongoMan
29.03.2004, 12:32
My copy of (my legally purchased) Sacred CD 2 (RMPS) works only approximately 3 out of 5 times. Sometimes it says INSERT ORIGINAL CD 2, sometimes it works. Iґve also made several images and burned them but without any differences (thought it might depend on DPM quality)

CongoMan
29.03.2004, 12:33
... but Iґve never got it to work from image so far ...

Copytrooper
29.03.2004, 12:39
Do you use new Sacred patch?

CongoMan
29.03.2004, 13:23
Yes, I do. But Iґve tried with all available version. It was always like I described.

Copytrooper
29.03.2004, 13:34
Well if it works from time to time it seems either bad DPM, or bug in protection.

CongoMan
29.03.2004, 14:05
I see.

Assuming I got a bad DPM, any suggestions to get a better quality? Iґve measured DPM @ 1x speed on my LiteOn 32xxxx, my TEAC DVD-Writer, my Toshiba DVD-Reader, my Hitachi blablabla reader. MDS files were only slightly different from another most of the times, except for the result of the Toshiba. These were worse, judging from the size of the file (way smaller)

Copytrooper
29.03.2004, 14:12
Please send your mds-files (support@daemon-tools.cc)

CongoMan
29.03.2004, 14:36
OK, but youґll have to wait till tonight as my boss doesnґt like me playing @work ;)

Iґll try and remember to send the files (at least the ones Iґve kept). If I feel like it, Iґll recreate all MDS combinations possible with my 5 (!) PCs (might take some time).


BTW, thanks to everyone at DAEMONLAND for the great work. Although I joined your board only a few days ago, Iґve used DT for ages now. Iґve always been with you and Iґve always admired your fine arts of coding.

Copytrooper
29.03.2004, 17:49
Please send them RARed ;)

CongoMan
30.03.2004, 02:09
be sure, i will. itґs only that i want to give you the best possible results on my machines. so please let me do some configuring, swapping and tuning before. guess iґll send them tuesday night. thanks in advance.

DeadlyBlade
30.03.2004, 14:03
I have installed Sacred from Alcohol image into win98se. With Deamon RMPS emuliation turned on I can run game, but it crashes.. patch 1.5 didn't fix it.

Then I installed Sacred on WinXP, with Deamon RMPS emuliation runing, but it didn't work..:[[, disk verification failed:[ I don't understand why..

And now the game is running without crashes on WinXP but only if I write ver 1.2 crack..

misukin
30.03.2004, 19:06
If I were u, I would not use rmps emulation....
simply use the usual daemon settings (red icon)
write an image with alc using vob protectcd5 settings!

image works with dt 3.46 ( alc uninstalled incl. registry settings)!

DeadlyBlade
01.04.2004, 09:37
I hate cracks.. warez and so on.. I live with my girlfriend and we like gaming rpg games through network, it's silly that if I want to be legal I must buy two games..

stryk
15.04.2004, 22:09
I used to use Sacred as an Alocohol image file, mounted in DT 3.46 with only RMPS Emulation active (1 virtual drive).
I believe the protection is VOB + some custom thing.
Anyway, it all worked fine and dandy, original version, and also 1.5 update patch worked fine. Today however, version 1.6 update patch was released. After installing that, the "cd check" fails using all the normal settings I used to use. After the check fails, I look in the DT menu (from the system tray) and see that, even though the icon is still green, there is no check mark by RMPS. Have they implemented a new version of VOB do you think, that now blacklists Daemon Tools? Oh BTW, Alcohol is NOT installed on the PC I'm running the game on. I also tried having all emulations on and get the same results.

Bunn
16.04.2004, 08:17
I also just updated from 1.5 to 1.6, and even with all emulation options ON i can't get to run the game. Bummer! :cry: Just while I was leveling my dark elf! I applyed the patch because the game is too damn buggy, i was trying to make it work better.. but now it doesn't work at all..... :?

LocutusofBorg
16.04.2004, 08:26
we are aware of the problem and working on it. Please be patient

Bunn
16.04.2004, 08:30
Wow, thanks. you guys are very quick to answer :D
Nowadays the softhouses are putting so much effort in copy protection that even the original ones don't work sometimes. gee :roll:

Carello
20.04.2004, 19:11
Please see this thread:

http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/portal/viewtopic.php?t=2827

girlsfavtoy
04.05.2004, 10:02
I can say using daemon tools with daemon scripting tool works with sacred 1.6.

I have the disk backed up to a cdrw with vob protection. Saldy it works maybe 1 out of 20 times. Gonna try with a cdr tomorrow (no cdrs left).

Phalzyr
05.05.2004, 14:08
I hate cracks.. warez and so on.. I live with my girlfriend and we like gaming rpg games through network, it's silly that if I want to be legal I must buy two games.. Most companies say you can do this with only one copy by starting the game up on one then bringing CD to other. Sacred's maker said it on forum that it is an option so.... I see statements on forums by makers saying this kind of thing often even though it isn't specifically asked. I'm not sure if that makes it legal or not but... I hate how they are going about "protecting" there software from warez. I have yet to see a game released with this kind of crappy yet "Elite" protection and not be warezed in a day or two or sometimes even before it is on shelves in most placed. How much did hurting their clientel save them??? CD keys are annoying to enter but much better than the cd protection programs, and a warez person can't get the key till they get the game and by then most people who would buy the game have... Oh well... Maybe one day they'll find a good middle ground, as long as they don't pull a microsoft activation kinda thing.

Kynaeus
24.05.2004, 00:32
The CD swapping thing you mentioned does work, I've done it at my friend's house (with the original copies unfortunately). Install on both, start the game (WAIT TILL IT LOADS), take out CD 1 put it in the other comp and start the game and you can both play.