PDA

View Full Version : DT freezes my entire PC



nameless1
06.10.2009, 21:35
Ok this thing is going on for enough time now, and it's a miracle my HD is still alive and working.

I know it's not a "bad image" problem, because when in a prevous case I tried to decompress an ISO (using winrar) and installing no problems occurred.

It is completely random, occurring during the installation of a software (games, in my case), and it did not happen on ALL images I had.

Googling the problem (a critical problem, IMO, because there're high possibilities to damage your hard drive) I found many discussions about it, but not a clear anwer.

I've used DT for years, and this is the 1st time I have a problem like that.

My (2 months new rig):

- Gigabyte mobo (someone wrote the problem was a process of the "energy saving" sw from gb but I haven't that process on)
- AMD phenom II 920 (4 cores)
- win xp sp3
- 4gb ram

I even tried to uninstall my antvirus, but to no avail.

Important:
- I tried to mount the same image with Alcohol120% and the same error occurred.
- I tried a different version af DT (lite), the 4.30.0.0 if I'm not wrong, and the freeze was there again
- One of the threads I found: http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/page-246271_14_0.html


Any ideas?:confused:

nameless1
06.10.2009, 21:58
UPDATE: Iv'e foud this thread on this board and followed the suggestions by Blazkowicz: http://forum.daemon-tools.cc/f19/games-freeze-during-installation-24564/

This is what I've found:

- The process at issue is called "ESSVR.EXE"
- That process disappeared as soon as I've foud and unistalled the gigabyte energy saver (had to reboot win)

Now I'll try to reinstall DT and see what happens.

Sway
07.10.2009, 09:05
Is your problem solved?

nameless1
07.10.2009, 13:56
(sorry I was awaiting the publication of my post)

The answer is YES, the problem was clearly there. :)

Sway
07.10.2009, 16:08
Happy for you :)