VirtualDrive

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VirtualDrive

I am new to everything associated with CD images and emulators. I have been doing some experimenting recently with DiscDump, ******** and Daemon. And just today I tried VirtualDrive. VirtualDrive seems to produce an image of one of my games the fastest with DiscDump just slightly slower. But both DiscDump and ******** produce an image of 729,157 kB while VirtualDrive produces an image of 635,255 kB. All three images load into Daemon and play the game properly. The copy protection for the game is SafeDisc.

I would appreciate any insight into what the difference is between these three programs and I would like to know if anyone has any experience with VirtualDrive.

Thanks, jimbo

Looks like difference between RAW and cooked image (2352bps vs 2048bps) - the image probably works, 'cause SafeDisc doesn't check the defect sectors anymore.
    Everybody be cool! You, be cool!
    They'll keep fighting! And they'll win!

Comment

it's also possible that you set option for "compressed images".

Afaik, VirtualDrive is able to compress images (in the native VirtualDrive image typ, called .vcd)

A compression is planned for Daemon Tools, but currently not implemented

Comment

I don't think it was compressed. VirtualDrive has an option to convert the vcd file to an iso file. It produced an iso file with the exact bytes as the original vcd file. Did it do any more than change the file extension?

I really don't know anything about this stuff, all new to me. I was just trying to learn a little and find a program that would create an image of a CD on a hard drive and have a CD drive emulator to "play" the CD image.

Thanks, jimbo

Originally Posted by LocutusofBorg
        it's also possible that you set option for "compressed images".

Afaik, VirtualDrive is able to compress images (in the native VirtualDrive image typ, called .vcd)