PDA

View Full Version : Mounted 4GB ISO reported as OTP, should be Single layer/PTP



Jiri Zita
02.11.2009, 09:47
Hello,

I still have no answer from DT support team regarding my email sent to them on 24.9.2009 15:31, so I am posting it here now. Attached is DDP_Editor error window and ImgBurn Read_report. The same error is present also in the new version 4.35.5.0068:

-------------------------------------------------
we have used DT version 4.12.3 lite commercial until now and we were/are satisfied with it.

Today I am testing the new version DT 4.30.4 lite so we could buy a licence for upgrade to this new version and also following versions. I have found a problem with mounted ISO images - they are reported as OTP discs by our premastering software so we cannot use them and have to create MDS manually for every ISO. Also ImgBurn reports the image as OTP so it seems to be DT fault. Version 4.12.3 reports the same images as Single layer/PTP discs.

Tested on both Windows XP Pro SP3 32-bit and Windows Vista 64 Bussines SP2. The SPTD version is latest: 1.60 (and 1.62 for 4.35.5).

Until the problem is solved, we have to continue using older 4.12.3 version which works good and emulates most images properly.

--------------------------------

Best regards,

Sway
02.11.2009, 12:49
How did you get this image? Did you create it via DT?

I've contacted our Support Team. There is no email from you in Support Center.

Jiri Zita
02.11.2009, 13:27
How did you get this image? Did you create it via DT?


No, it was created by ImgBurn, but I can create many similar images in several applications (conforming ISO standards, yellow/red/blue/white/orange books, DVD specifications etc). It is always the same problem.
We also work with many ISO images from different customers and 99% of them supply only ISO to us (no MDS) so the behaviour of DT SHOULD NOT depend on particular SW and SHOULD emulate large ISO images as Single layer/PTP discs.

There is a question how to emulate ISO images larger than 2294912 sectors, but those old DT versions emulated them also as large Single-layer discs. We have to split them to two layers manually or by some automatic procedure (like used by ImgBurn for DVD-Video discs).

You can simulate this wrong behaviour by using any large "something.iso" image which is recognized by DT as a DVD disc, 1GB ISO file is enough (maybe any ISO image larger than cca 800 MB?)



I've contacted our Support Team. There is no email from you in Support Center.

Thanks. Probably some Anti-SPAM filtering or something similar. I wrote two emails: to support@disc-soft.com (24.9.2009 15:31) and then again to support1@disc-soft.com (16.10.2009 14:20) also with our licensing email specified and other details, but no answer...
But it doesn't matter. It is important to solve the problem, so we can buy new commercial licences :-)

Blazkowicz
02.11.2009, 16:10
You know single-layer DVDs can't be OTP or PTP, do you?

Jiri Zita
03.11.2009, 08:50
You know single-layer DVDs can't be OTP or PTP, do you?

Yes, I do know that. I didn't write about hardware/physical level, only about the symptoms as seen by the users. Simply said - the sector addressing for single-layer discs is similar to PTP dual layer so both mentioned applications use Single-layer/PTP versus OTP.
The DDP files from the 4.12.3 version are good and from both new mentioned versions are bad. ImgBurn also reports different values now and before. Did you see my attachments?

It seems that the new DT Lite versions report bad values from Lead-In. I believe you know that ISO images alone have no direct info for Lead-in, so the virtual drive has to report all the Lead-In values according its internal algorithm. And it can be some error there.

Jiri Zita
27.01.2010, 08:19
...

It seems that the new DT Lite versions report bad values from Lead-In. I believe you know that ISO images alone have no direct info for Lead-in, so the virtual drive has to report all the Lead-In values according its internal algorithm. And it can be some error there.

Is there anything new regarding this bug? A new version with corrected behavior planned? Any info?
We would like to buy 20 licenses for the new Lite Commercial version :-)

SUPPORT2
27.01.2010, 13:20
Specify image size in bytes.
Also, check if DTLite4.35.5 emulates disc with OTP using the latest Nero InfoTool.
Note: eject all other discs from all of your optical drives.

Jiri Zita
27.01.2010, 13:50
Specify image size in bytes.
Also, check if DTLite4.35.5 emulates disc with OTP using the latest Nero InfoTool.
Note: eject all other discs from all of your optical drives.

Tested ISO images:

4*048*519*168 bytes = 1976816 sectors (DVD-Video single layer iso image from our customer)

4*699*979*776 bytes = 2294912 sectors (DVD-5 test iso image for glassmastering with maximum DVD-5 capacity)

- but the behavior was same for every ISO I have tried

All other drives (Samsung, LiteOn) were empty.

I've just downloaded the latest Nero InfoTool from their website (version 5.3.3.0 probably for Nero 8), but the DT Lite virtual drive is not visible there, only real drives. For this test I used PC with Windows Vista 64 Business SP2.

SUPPORT2
28.01.2010, 16:05
We have forwarded this info to our dev team.

Jiri Zita
12.04.2010, 09:15
I have just tested Daemon Tools Lite 4.35.6-0091 and still the same wrong behavior - OTP disc reported even for 1.2 GB ISO image. Any info from the development team? We still have to use 4.12.3 version :-((
Thanks.

SUPPORT2
12.04.2010, 15:02
Hello.
This issue will be fixed in the nearest DAEMON Tools Pro version and then the fix will be added to DTLite.

Jiri Zita
04.01.2011, 11:23
Hello.
This issue will be fixed in the nearest DAEMON Tools Pro version and then the fix will be added to DTLite.

Hello,

could you post any info when the new fixed Lite version will be released? It has been quite a long time since my first report of this bug...
And the Pro version has been fixed?
We still have to use 4.12.3 version :-(

Regards,

Sway
04.01.2011, 13:39
You can check the problem with DAEMON Tools Pro 4.40.0311 Trial.
New DAEMON Tools Lite version will be released in a few days.
In case the problem is not reproducible with DTPro 4.40.0311, this fix will be present in new DTLite.

LIGHTNING UK!
06.01.2011, 10:30
It's fine with DT Pro 4.40.0311 now.



DTSOFT BDROM 1.05 (Virtual)
Current Profile: DVD-ROM

Disc Information:
Status: Complete
State of Last Session: Complete
Erasable: No
Sessions: 1
Sectors: 2,134,848
Size: 4,372,168,704 bytes
Time: 474:26:48 (MM:SS:FF)

File System Information:
Sectors: 2,134,848
Size: 4,372,168,704 bytes
Time: 474:26:48 (MM:SS:FF)

TOC Information:
Session 1... (LBA: 0)
-> Track 01 (Mode 1, LBA: 0 - 2134847)
-> LeadOut (LBA: 2134848)

Track Information:
Session 1...
-> Track 01 (LTSA: 0, LTS: 2134848, LRA: 0)

Physical Format Information (Last Recorded):
Book Type: DVD-ROM
Part Version: 1
Disc Size: 120mm
Maximum Read Rate: 10.08Mbps
Number of Layers: 1
Track Path: Parallel Track Path (PTP)
Linear Density: 0.293 um/bit
Track Density: 0.74 um/track
First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 2,331,455
Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 0