PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 Kernel debugger Problem



purplesuit1
02.12.2009, 09:41
I used to have Windows Vista but when windows 7 came out i got a windows 7 upgrade. Ever since i installed windows 7 this error keeps coming up saying This program requires at least Windows 2000 with SPTD 1.60 or higher. Kernel debugger must be deactivated. This happens every time at startup and when i try and use Daemon tools. I tried uninstalling Daemon tools also but it still keeps coming up. Can someone help plz

Dazman
04.12.2009, 02:23
Got the same problem!

Blazkowicz
04.12.2009, 03:19
DAEMON Tools Professional Help: You must reboot after previous operation (http://daemonpro-help.com/problems_and_solutions/you_must_reboot.html)

Dazman
07.12.2009, 07:04
DAEMON Tools Professional Help: You must reboot after previous operation (http://daemonpro-help.com/problems_and_solutions/you_must_reboot.html)

Tried the professional help and it won't work. I upgraded from Vista and SPTD will not install.

Dazman
07.12.2009, 17:00
I can uninstall Daemon Tools with no errors, but the program will install without the SPDT 1.62.

I even tried this: DAEMON Tools Professional Help: You must reboot after previous operation (http://daemonpro-help.com/?id=546)

Blazkowicz
07.12.2009, 17:27
Are you using a security program like Zonealarm?

Copytrooper
07.12.2009, 19:26
If you upgraded OS with SPTD active, it probably screwed the SPTD configuration, so un-install Daemon Tools (if it fails, just delete the installation folder),
open registry editor (run regedit), go to
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\sptd
and change "Start" value to 4, then reboot.
After reboot open registry editor again, and enable all permissions of sptd\cfg key (right-click on sptd\cfg -> select Permissions), then delete entire sptd key and reboot again.
Now re-install.

Dazman
11.12.2009, 01:25
Yes, I've done all that and I'm not running ZA.

Dazman
11.12.2009, 01:42
Just fixed it!

Thanks

wootx
11.12.2009, 04:18
what exactly is the entire sptd key,
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\servic es\sptd ?

i thought maybe it could be one of the files in sptd/cfg.

Icks>>>>>>>>>>>
11.07.2010, 11:28
Thanks Copytrooper, it worked for me!

Zarent
12.07.2010, 19:00
Is there anyone out there that'll be willing to help me go through this on a 1 on 1 basis? I've tried all the fixes that I've seen through my searches, and have wasted around 6 hours of my time just to get back to step one. Here are some of the more involved steps that I've taken.

http://forum.daemon-tools.cc/f26/my-system-wont-boot-after-installation-v4-problems-sptd-sys-6828/
http://forum.daemon-tools.cc/f26/you-must-reboot-after-previous-operation-16177/
Re-Installing Daemon Tools Lite (and SPTD) on Windows 7 (http://geekswithblogs.net/apopovsky/archive/2009/08/14/re-installing-daemon-tools-lite-and-sptd-on-windows-7.aspx)
http://forum.daemon-tools.cc/f14/kernel-debugger-issue-9155/index2.html - ShamblerDK's post

Manually deleted all the SPTD registry keys.
And then "successfully" [meaning there were confirmation messages without errors] used the old 'SPTD deleter' and the 'sptdinst-x86.exe remove/add' trick , but those didn't fix anything either.

Using SPTD-v169-x86.exe as a base installer
DTlite4356-0091.exe as my Daemontools
Working on Vista Business

Had been using daemontools for a 2+ years without problems, then the Kernel Debugger problem popped up. Not sure exactly when it did so, but now I'm screwed. Halp?

Copytrooper
12.07.2010, 20:08
Check system eventlog regarding SPTD error messages. Post the entire error message incl. all binary bytes (Details).

Blazkowicz
12.07.2010, 20:45
Zarent, are you using any security software?

paulc_dj
02.08.2010, 15:17
Hi,

I am using ZA free and am having the same problem. What are the best settings for DT in ZA?

thanks

Paul

Blazkowicz
02.08.2010, 19:33
Uninstall ZoneAlarm toolbar.

math50
30.10.2010, 15:44
I have tried to find the sptd file but it doesn't seem to exist. Deamon tool is desintalled but the error message is still there.

I'm on Windows 7. Does somebody have an idea?


Mat



Uninstall ZoneAlarm toolbar.

Caap
01.11.2010, 17:03
Just fixed it!

Thanks

And yet you dont tell us how you freaking fixed it.. jeeesus fucking crist

cool-r
01.11.2010, 18:26
Hello,

I've got similar issue, I'm really confused, I tried to follow the steps but Still I get the same error!

Can someone help me out?

Sticky
02.11.2010, 13:41
Ive got the same issue and I tryed everything I found here and on google and nothing helped. I use COMODO FW and ArcaVir but disabling those wouldnt help. Just this msgs about Kernel Debugger over and over again. I am talking about Daemon Tools Lite 4.35.6 with sptd 1.62 and my os Windows 7 Professional

Blazkowicz
02.11.2010, 13:59
Sticky, it is D+ issue. Search for the option which requires a reboot (to disable), reboot and error gone.

Shafol
03.11.2010, 12:58
I got this problem too and im using ZA but i got no toolbar or atleast i cant see it on Remove/Add Program list or does it have some other name that ZoneAlarm Toolbar?

Blazkowicz
03.11.2010, 13:37
It has that name in Remove/Add Programs list.
Please list running processes from Task Manager.

Marcows89
03.11.2010, 15:39
Ive got the same issue and I tryed everything I found here and on google and nothing helped. I use COMODO FW and ArcaVir but disabling those wouldnt help. Just this msgs about Kernel Debugger over and over again. I am talking about Daemon Tools Lite 4.35.6 with sptd 1.62 and my os Windows 7 Professional

Same problem.

Windows 7 64bit, comodo firewall (just disabled D+), avast 5 and talking about Daemon Tools Lite 4.35.6 (DTLite4356-0091).

What should I do?

Thanks in advance.

Blazkowicz
03.11.2010, 16:13
Marcows89, so you used the option to disable D+ which requires a reboot?

uptorest
10.11.2010, 05:53
wait, wat d+ option? is this on the set up? and i followed all the steps for the registry editor but know sptd simply wont install, it says it cant open it or something

Suprug
14.11.2010, 14:25
Good news, i have managed to get it working, after having the same problem that the original poster had.

First I did what Copytrooper succested earlier (alltought my regedit didn't let me delete everything from the sptd folder), then I downloaded the SPDT client from their homepage and it worked after reboot. Also I disabled DeepGuard from my F-Secure 2011 before intalling anything,but I don't think that it did anything, because I had tried it earlier.

Hope this works for you.

Blazkowicz
14.11.2010, 14:30
DeepGuard used to be to cause that error. Don't know if F-Secure brought the issue back.

JestersTriumph
15.11.2010, 09:02
Same problem, only security software I have is Comodo and Microsoft Security Essentials, tried reinstalling, tried doing all of that registry stuff, even tried running it in safe mode and it still had that error.

Any advice?

Sway
15.11.2010, 09:34
Disable Comodo's Defense+ and then reboot.

JestersTriumph
18.11.2010, 00:19
I've never had it enabled. Even now, just started up my computer, it's set to Disabled.

Blazkowicz
18.11.2010, 02:16
So you disabled it through the setting which requires a reboot?

JestersTriumph
18.11.2010, 09:30
Which option? I disabled it in the menu that pops up when right clicking the icon in the taskbar. I can't remember if it asked me to reboot, but this was a while ago, it's been disabled through many restarts and shut downs.

But I could check the option that you're talking about if it's not the right click menu, just in case.

JestersTriumph
25.11.2010, 08:13
So, could you tell me which specific setting you mean, please?

Blazkowicz
25.11.2010, 19:24
Defense+ tab -> Defense+ Settings -> Check "Deactivate the Defense+ permanently (Requires a system restart) -> Reboot

JestersTriumph
29.11.2010, 10:25
That fixed the problem right away! Thanks so much, damn Comodo and its lies. Won't be trusting that little pop-up menu anymore.

janner66
04.04.2011, 16:40
If you upgraded OS with SPTD active, it probably screwed the SPTD configuration, so un-install Daemon Tools (if it fails, just delete the installation folder),
open registry editor (run regedit), go to
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\sptd
and change "Start" value to 4, then reboot.
After reboot open registry editor again, and enable all permissions of sptd\cfg key (right-click on sptd\cfg -> select Permissions), then delete entire sptd key and reboot again.
Now re-install.

I have changed the start value to 4 and rebooted. When I open sptd there is no cfg folder just a enum folder. I have changed permissions in the sptd folder. When you say delete the entire sptd key do you mean delete the sptd folder with enum? Thanks.