PDA

View Full Version : Security softwares DT has problems with



Blazkowicz
12.12.2009, 17:28
Please list here all known security softwares which DT has problems with, so i can try to check what feature of the security softwares is interfering.

F-Secure (fixed by latest F-Secure updates)
Spyware Doctor
ZoneAlarm (Free and paid)


Solutions for these are posted in our help document (http://daemonpro-help.com/problems_and_solutions/security_software_solutions.html).

Please only list problematic non-listed security softwares, thank you in advance.

ThreatFire is sadly completely incompatible, you would need to kill its service completely (no option to disable available there) and that is rendering the software useless, when the service is disabled.

Comodo Internet Security 2011's Defense+ is interfering with DT. Therefore you have to deactivate the service completely and reboot (Defense+ tab -> Defense+ Settings -> Check "Deactivate the Defense+ permanently (Requires a system restart) -> Reboot)

ß
13.12.2009, 05:26
i haven't check since a few months, but zonealarm extreme v8 caused bsod with dt.

Blazkowicz
13.12.2009, 11:28
I tried latest version of ZA Extreme on Win 7 x64 in VMWare and no problem.

ß
13.12.2009, 13:22
I tried latest version of ZA Extreme on Win 7 x64 in VMWare and no problem.

why latest (v9)(i know v9 doesn't cause bsod because i use it.)? i specifically mentioned v8 which is only months old. many people use it and will continue to do so for a long time. i just upgraded from v6 a few days ago. anyway, me stating this isn't new, there's one or more threads about it already.

moleary
29.12.2009, 05:31
I'm using Zone Alarm Security suite but not extreme...
DT also has problems with this version as it has forcefield but there is no easy way to shut off force field without going into each browser (I have three as I do a lot of web work).

The issue seems to be SPTD not DT itself.

And I am not about to turn off security to run this...
Is there no other solution? It is obvious this is doing something very few of the security services likes.
Is there a way to get around that without compromising my system?

sk8munkey
09.01.2010, 01:26
I'm using Zone Alarm Security suite but not extreme...
DT also has problems with this version as it has forcefield but there is no easy way to shut off force field without going into each browser (I have three as I do a lot of web work).

The issue seems to be SPTD not DT itself.

And I am not about to turn off security to run this...
Is there no other solution? It is obvious this is doing something very few of the security services likes.
Is there a way to get around that without compromising my system?

I had the same problem - the free version of Zonealarm 9.1 also doesn't have an easy way to turn off Forcefield.

Fortunately the solution is simple, as provided Daemon tools loads before Forcefield, everything is fine. And since Forcefield only protects the internet browser, as long as its going before you can load a browser you are fine. So all I did was fiddle with the windows startup order.

Firstly, you need to run regedit (backup probably a good idea first, just in case), and navigate to:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run.

You should find an entry there with the name "ISW" and a data value looking something like this:
"C:\Program Files\CheckPoint\ZAForceField\ForceField.exe" /icon="hidden" There should also be an entry mentioning Daemon in someway.

Delete this entry from the registry, and close the registry.

Next, open up your start menu, and go into the 'startup' folder. Now make a shortcut in that folder to your Forcefield.exe file. If you don't want the system tray icon to show, you could probably add the /icon="hidden" tag to the end of the shortcut, otherwise leave it.

And now you're done - when you restart windows, Daemon should boot straight up without throwing out the "SPTD not installed message."

ERROR CODE 14 on install:
For those guys who have trouble installing with Zonealarm, and get the "error code 14" from the installer, run msconfig, click on the services tab, and disable these two services:

ZoneAlarm Toolbar IswSvc (by unknown)
TrueVector Internet Monitor (By Checkpoint)

Also set Zonealarm to not startup with windows, via its own internal settings.
Then restart windows. Msconfig will pop up on startup to tell you that you've turned things off, just ignore it for the moment and you should be able to install Daemon tools fine. Then if you do the startup order tweak above, it should all work fine.

Blazkowicz
12.02.2010, 08:07
Issue with F-Secure software is solved with latest F-Secure product updates (10.12 build 108 and latest updates) :)

I will keep F-Secure entry in help document in case something is breaking the compatibility.

Knuckles01
25.03.2010, 15:03
needing a IT degree? I bought this app to make life easier not go through a multi page IT manual just to get this to work.

I don't use PCs much only to play games through bootcamp on my mac so I have little to no knowledge of PCs...

Win7 either pops up a blue screen or gives me errors saying I need a service pack for win 2000...

Blazkowicz
25.03.2010, 16:45
You should post latest minidump (c:\windows\minidump).

Churito
14.04.2010, 06:18
When OS WinSeven starts there's a window telling me that DT needs Win2000 with SPTD 1.60 or higher and must disable any kernel depurator (it's in Spanish so don't know the exact phrase), sorry. Is there a free/lite version to correct this? Please, this is the first time it happens with my loved DT. Thanks for your answer, regards.
Máximo

Blazkowicz
14.04.2010, 06:38
You should follow the guide in case you didn't install latest DT Lite.

billyiv
24.05.2010, 16:46
Just built my Win7 (64bit) system. Installed DT (lastest version) without error. Program will not run. Get error others have presented about needing windows 2000 and SPTD 1.69 or higher. Followed instructions regarding security and registry to remove SPTD and re-install. Downloaded stand alone sptd 1.69. Installed without error. Rebooted. Installed DT. No errors. Rebooted. DT gadget cannot initialize and if I attempt to run program manually I get the Windows 2000, sptd 1.69 required error again.
Disabled ZA toolbar.
Run Viper AV for security.

What can I do now??

Blazkowicz
24.05.2010, 17:31
You must uninstall ZA toolbar. Will check Viper AV (even though never heard of it before).

EDIT: You are sure you aren't talking about vipreantivirus?
Vipre is not a problem.

billyiv
25.05.2010, 22:09
You must uninstall ZA toolbar. Will check Viper AV (even though never heard of it before).

EDIT: You are sure you aren't talking about vipreantivirus?
Vipre is not a problem.
The AV is from Sunbelt Software. It might be called Vipre. It is their AV/AS software, NOT their firewall.

I will double check the toolbars with ZA. I use both Firefox and IE. Maybe I disabled in one and not the other.

Will get back with you!

Blazkowicz
25.05.2010, 22:11
I'm not talking about disabling, I'm talking about uninstalling through control panel.

billyiv
25.05.2010, 22:30
I'm not talking about disabling, I'm talking about uninstalling through control panel.
I understand now and did un-install through CP. Now the program runs and asks me to activate. I supplied the code I received and the program indicates successful activation, but nothing happens. There is nothing in the systray and the gadget still says there is an initialization error. Every time I run the program it asks me to activate again. I have completely shut down ZA just to see if that makes a difference and doesn't appear to. Thoughts??

Blazkowicz
26.05.2010, 07:05
Please send a message (www.disc-soft.com/sendmsg) with the problem and a link to this thread, thank you.

Zeolites
04.09.2010, 23:45
I have another computer with McAfee Security Center, and it says that the DTLite.exe is a virus (detection name "New Poly Win32") and quarantines it. The only around it is if I restore the file then disable Anti-Virus protection.

Sway
05.09.2010, 06:23
Do you have the latest McAfee database?

Zeolites
05.09.2010, 18:18
I checked to make sure and it's not, sorry about that. It's not my computer but another family members. Here's some pictures, the signatures are out of date and the program needs to be renewed to get further updates. The person got the program along with the computer.

http://a.imageshack.us/img705/6790/mcafeesecuritycenter.jpg

http://a.imageshack.us/img705/2861/mcafeesecuritycenterqua.jpg

Lunaticfixx
27.09.2010, 05:14
Comodo Internet Security 2011's Defense+ is interfering with DT. Therefore you have to deactivate the service completely and reboot.

Is this just for the purpose of installing? I disabled it to install, but if I re-enable it, will I get headaches when I try to use DT Lite?

Thanks so much!

Oh yeah, any known issues with Avast 5.0.677 (current)?

Thanks again!

Blazkowicz
27.09.2010, 18:47
You just would get a nag.

0ea1
28.10.2010, 09:23
Comodo Firewall got problem.

indigocat
28.10.2010, 15:03
Comodo Premium Internet Security (AV+Firewall) [CIS free] caused BIG headaches - see my replies on another thread. I think it is the AV rather than the Firewall that is causing the problems. These suddenly appeared after after recent update by Comodo. Even uninstalling Comodo did not fix the problem - I had to use System restore to go back to a point before the update.

Black_ice_Spain
28.11.2011, 14:31
Is not a problem, i posted fix somewhere in the forum before.

1- Install it normally
2- Go to Comodo, Defense +, Defense + Configuration.
3- Go to execution control tab, and click into "Exclusions/Exclude button", add DT Folder (for example, C:\Program files\Daemon Tools Pro).

It should work perfectly now.

PowerPista
27.12.2011, 00:51
Microsoft security essential warning: this trojan

Legfrissebb Daemon Tools Letöltése magyarul ! | DaemonTools.hu (http://daemontools.hu/letoltes)
(DTLite4451-0243.exe)

Hungarian page its fake???

Sway
27.12.2011, 12:36
Microsoft security essential warning: this trojan

Legfrissebb Daemon Tools Letöltése magyarul ! | DaemonTools.hu (http://daemontools.hu/letoltes)
(DTLite4451-0243.exe)

Hungarian page its fake???

This site is not related to our company or our partners. Please use DAEMON-Tools.cc (http://daemon-tools.cc).

NickTesla
08.05.2014, 18:02
I got DT Lite 4.49.1 a few days ago and my Windows 8.1 laptop is now stuck in a BSOD boot loop. I had IOBit Malware Fighter Pro on there, as well as Windows Defender.

Terramex
12.05.2014, 20:50
If you can't access the registry in Windows please download and boot with Kaspersky Rescue Disc 10 (http://support.kaspersky.com/us/viruses/rescuedisk#downloads), open its Registry Editor.
Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\services\s ptd, and double-click the DWORD value named 'Start' on the right.
Now change the 'Value data' to 4 to disable SPTD; press OK and reboot.