PDA

View Full Version : Error: Core library wasn't found



invine
18.04.2010, 10:38
I couldn't find anything that includes this error on this forum or anywhere else. But when I start my computer the first thing that pops up is this error:


Error: Core library wasn't found

I'm running windows 7 and everything was fine when I shut down my computer yesterday and now I get this with no possible way to reopen daemon tools lite.

Blazkowicz
18.04.2010, 10:56
Which version of DT Lite are you running?
Could you please post a screenshot of that message.

invine
18.04.2010, 13:36
Thanks for the fast answer, screenshot:

http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l53/invine/error.png

I got the latest version as far as I know, installed it 1.5 weeks ago on a fresh installation of windows 7 build 7600.

When I try to reinstall it I get the 256 error and please contact support. Shutting and deinstalling my "protection" software didn't help either.

Blazkowicz
18.04.2010, 15:08
You should tell us which security software you are running.

invine
18.04.2010, 16:18
Superantispyware free edition and the standard stuff from windows 7, firewall is off.

Blazkowicz
18.04.2010, 20:22
Will check Superantispyware free edition.
BTW you don't have Zonealarm Toolbar installed?

invine
18.04.2010, 21:24
Nope haven't got that installed, but I installed the superantispyware after I got the error so I don't think that's the problem.

Blazkowicz
18.04.2010, 21:37
You got the error 256 before that antispyware program?
I can't reproduce at all.
And error 256 means some security software is blocking.

invine
18.04.2010, 22:52
I got the 256 error after I removed the antispyware program. But I guess my computer is just crashing now, most of my programs don't work anymore so I guess I just need to reinstall my windows (again)

ruthannv
15.05.2010, 02:42
Thanks for the fast answer, screenshot:

http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l53/invine/error.png

I got the latest version as far as I know, installed it 1.5 weeks ago on a fresh installation of windows 7 build 7600.

When I try to reinstall it I get the 256 error and please contact support. Shutting and deinstalling my "protection" software didn't help either.

I've got the same issue. It's the latest & greatest version of DT Lite (DTLite-4356-0091.exe) This is on a new clean Win7 Home install. There wasn't any "protection" software yet installed on the system when I ran the Daemon installation. (There now is McAfee AV/Security Suite).

Unfortunately it's totally hosed up -- I get the core library error once windows finishes loading (after login). I can't launch the software, I can't uninstall, I can't re-install (errors out on each). At this point I'm looking for how to rip it out manually so I can then install the prior version (daemon 4304-lite) which is running fine on a different system (Win7 enterprise). What directories & registry entries do I need to delete so I can start over.

Thank you very much!

ozborni
29.05.2010, 03:38
+1 for this error.. could someone point us in the right direction to fix? we can't uninstall or reinstall..

kicker35
30.05.2010, 22:28
same problem here since I´ve updated to version 4.35.6.91..
Befor the update, the program ran without any problems..
But now I can´t even uninstall it...

Sway
31.05.2010, 09:43
Try to delete DT files/folders manually and then reinstall the program.

P.S. What is your security software?

kicker35
31.05.2010, 18:06
kaspersky.....

ruthannv
01.06.2010, 15:58
Manually deleting the files/folders did not allow me to reinstall successfully (still got an error about software not being properly registered (and I think it means registered within windows, not registered purchase/license/etc)

I finally gave up and brute forced it by backing up my registry, searched on daemon and removed almost every instance/key pertaining to daemon tools (I left things that were items like IE last browsed page that were references to daemon). Rebooted, and the DTLite4356-0091.exe version installed fine that time around.

Sway
01.06.2010, 16:11
Great! :rolleyes:

whidalgow
06.08.2010, 16:16
I have the same problem, but sorry for asking, how can i delete all registry that u mention before. Anyone can help me with this please?

I really appreciate your help.

T_xy
15.08.2010, 11:06
The same problem, vista64, avast. The new version is not working, it cannot be even reinstalled, I accept that. But why the f*k cannot I go back and install the old version???

DDrVostep
16.08.2010, 10:05
open DaemonToolsLite4356-0091.exe(installation file) with 7zip and copy Engine.dll, imgengine.dll to folder with daemon(C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Lite)

T_xy
26.08.2010, 23:41
When I 7zipped the installation file, i got these files

01.04.2010 11:18 512 .data
01.04.2010 11:18 0 .ndata
01.04.2010 11:18 6˙656 .rdata
01.04.2010 11:18 9˙551˙872 .rsrc
01.04.2010 11:18 25˙600 .text
01.04.2010 11:18 5˙440 CERTIFICATE

no dll file...

Terramex
27.08.2010, 11:19
When I 7zipped the installation file, i got these filesAre you using a up-to-date version of 7Zip ?
Have you downloaded the DT Installer from official sources (disc-tools.com or disc-soft.com) ?

Blazkowicz
27.08.2010, 11:26
Terramex, I did check it 2 month ago with latest 7Zip, same as T_xy reported.

Terramex
27.08.2010, 12:47
Terramex, I did check it 2 month ago with latest 7Zip, same as T_xy reported.Strange, i've checked it 2 minutes before my post - no problem with v4.65 :confused:
Also no problem with Uniextract (which uses the 7Zip beta dll).

T_xy
28.08.2010, 00:48
It finally works. My problem was in suffix, with .7z it extracts the weird way, with .7zip it works correctly. I had to copy CSY.dll and ENU.dll in Lang subdirectory too, otherwise there was no text. Thank DDrVostep for solution and the others for patience.

Terramex
28.08.2010, 11:47
My problem was in suffix, with .7z it extracts the weird way, with .7zip it works correctly.If it's ever needed again (hopefully not ;)), just let the extension well enough alone - it's working fine with .exe

Holako
03.01.2011, 17:17
Hi all
Actually I have the same problem + another problem which is the 7zip is not working correctly, It just gives me a report with an error while extracting the missing files from the .exe into the dt lite directory. Any help?

I thought maybe someone can do me a favor and upload the missing files on mediafire or such file hosting webs or something. Thanks

Yeah and the version I'm using is DTLite4356-0091
And as you already know I can't uninstall or reinstall it, so I'm stuck

elitebuster
04.01.2011, 20:55
Add another to the list, I got the same error, and will try the recomended fix, but I have to say, if the only problem is that the files are missing then the installer is clearly flawed, and should be replaced with one that works. IMMEDIATLY!

elitebuster
04.01.2011, 21:03
Thank you Terramex, your fix has restored my abillity to use Mechwarrior 2! yay

Terramex
04.01.2011, 22:51
@Holako
Here you are :)

Download Files.zip from Sendspace.com - send big files the easy way (http://www.sendspace.com/file/wgoy78)