daemontools for linux

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• daemontools for linux

http://blfs.netservice-neuss.de/view...emontools.html for all that ask for a linuxversion of daemontools ... here you go!
    A mouse is a device used to point at the xterm you want to type in.

HOHOHO! It's xmas time :mrgreen: - and such a big pgift! Thx Netsurfer :lol:

Comment

Excuse my ignorance (I'm new to Linux);

but how is this different than:

mount -o loop -t iso9660 -r cd_image.iso /mnt/cdrom

?

Comment

This is a frikin revolution is what this is. You try mounting .bin .img or any one of the many other image file formats out there using mount -o loop -t iso9660 -r cd_image.iso /mnt/cdrom, the bottom line is, it aint gonna happen. You can mount .ISOs and that's it. And you forget what daemon tools is, what it does, why it exists. I mean does copy protection ring a bell to you? With WineX and other technologies emerging there is a very strong need for Daamon tools on Linux. Besides which Daemon tools is just plumb cool. Its a tool for lazy people - people who don't even want to burn CDs. Anything that makes life simpler in Linux is definately a good thing. Its also a DVD player, so in the event of you downloading or making a DVD ISO, you don't need a DVD burner to play/use it. Need I go on? I could give you any one of 50 different reasons why Damon tools is cool, or why Daemon tools on Linux is even cooler. And I'm sure mostly everybody who reads this and has used Daemon tools and who has longed for this facility on Linux could give 50 more of their own reasons too. This is so cool, its the next level in coolness.

Ok geek drool over with, now to have some fun! (BTW expect this to get a lot more poplular, as I intend to post info on it on every forum of which I am a member!)

Q

Comment