Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bug in GetCount/Add/Remove CLI methods

Hi there,

I recently started playing around with the CLI of Daemon Tools. I'm writing a wrapper for it in C#.

I found the return values of the -get_count, -add and -remove switches to be incorrect in the latest versions of both DTLite (v4.41.3.0173) and DTPro (v4.41.0315.0262). The return values are supposed to contain the total number of virtual drives. However only the number of "DT" type drives (basic emulation) is returned, i.e. "SCSI" type drives and in DTPro's case "IDE" type drives as well are not counted!
    From a programmer's point of view I think the problem is very simple and so should its solution be.

I've tested this on both w7 x64 SP1 and on winXP SP3 x86 (the latter in a VM).

If anybody else could test this as well, that'd be great, just make sure you're running the latest version.

Thanks for looking into this!

It's not a bug. Such behavior is by design.

Most likely beavior of -get_count will be changed in the nearest versions. So you will be able to get total number of devices.

But how do you imagine behavior of -add and -remove switches without specifying device type? Please describe it in detail.

Comment

I find that a bit silly.
      A new version is released which allows the number of DT drives to be counted and output, but not the other types?
      Of course I don't know your software architecture, but still, it seems odd to me...

I should have been clearer I guess.
      Here's the behaviour I see (DTPro behaves similarly):
      1. -add switch:
        a. DTLite.exe -add scsi
        This command always returns 0 (unless the maximum number of drives is reached: -1).
        Instead, according to your online documentation, it should return the number of drives.

b. DTLite.exe -add dt
        Same as 1.a.

2. -remove switch:
        a. DTLite -remove scsi, 0/1