PDA

View Full Version : How to emulate SecuROM 8



raffairon
25.09.2012, 09:57
Hi, I buyed a disc which contain a software, in particular a dictionary.

I scanned that disc using the software ProtectionID 0.6.4.0 JULY by clicking on scan->CD/DVD drive (file) and then by clicking on the DVD drive which contained the disc. The result is this:


-=[ ProtectionID v0.6.4.0 JULY]=-
(c) 2003-2010 CDKiLLER & TippeX
Build 07/08/10-17:57:05
Ready...
Scanning -> F:\activating.exe
File Type : 32-Bit Exe (Subsystem : Win GUI / 2), Size : 11763712 (0B38000h) Byte(s)
[File Heuristics] -> Flag : 00000000000000000000000000000001 (0x00000001)
[!] SecuROM Detected - Version 08.03.0009
[!] Possible CD/DVD-Key or Serial Check -> SerialNumber
[CompilerDetect] -> Visual C++ 8.0 (Visual Studio 2005)
- Scan Took : 0.376 Second(s)

Scanning -> F:\media\activebook\activebook.exe
File Type : 32-Bit Exe (Subsystem : Win GUI / 2), Size : 20101925 (0132BB25h) Byte(s)
-> File has 3365669 (0335B25h) bytes of appended data starting at offset 0FF6000h
[File Heuristics] -> Flag : 00000000000000000000000000000101 (0x00000005)
[!] SecuROM Detected - Version 08.03.0009
[!] Possible CD/DVD-Key or Serial Check -> SerialNumber
[CompilerDetect] -> Visual C++ 7.1 (Visual Studio 2003)
- Scan Took : 3.193 Second(s)

Scanning -> F:\media\cdrom\cdrom.exe
File Type : 32-Bit Exe (Subsystem : Win GUI / 2), Size : 15594605 (0EDF46Dh) Byte(s)
-> File has 25709 (0646Dh) bytes of appended data starting at offset 0ED9000h
[File Heuristics] -> Flag : 00000000000000000000000000000101 (0x00000005)
[!] SecuROM Detected - Version 08.03.0009
[!] Possible CD/DVD-Key or Serial Check -> SerialNumber
- Scan Took : 2.83 Second(s)

Scanning sector give this:

[I] Init cd/dvd sector scan for Drive F
[!] Disc Protection: SecuROM Signature v 7.40 (or higher) (DVD)
[Disk Heuristics] -> Flag : 00000000000000000000000000010011 (0x00000013)
- Scan Took : 2.5 Second(s)

I want to be able to make an image ofthe disc and emulate it through Daemon Tools. I have DAEMON Tools Lite version 4.45.4.0316 with SPTD version 1.83. I'm running Windows 8 (hence why I had to download the 1.83 version of SPTD).

I used Alcohol 120% v7 to make the disc image in the mds format. I then mount it in DAEMON Tools in a SCSI virtual drive. In the "wheel icon"->advanced, SecuROM option IS selected, and only that is selected.

When the software starts, a message box says that "jvm.dll file is missing". When i click ok, a new message box appear stating that I need to insert the original disc and not a backup disc, pointing me to a securom website link

How can i solve that?

Terramex
25.09.2012, 18:36
I used Alcohol 120% v7 to make the disc image in the mds format.

Alcohol v7 -a crippled german version- isn't capable of performing the required DPM (data position measurement).
You need the international version 2.0.2.3931 or DAEMON Tools Pro to create an image with DPM.

In the "wheel icon"->advanced, SecuROM option IS selected, and only that is selected.
This option is only for very old SecuROM versions in case a CD copy was imperfect.
It doesn't help at all for SecuROM versions starting from version 4.8x back in 2003.

mark238
25.11.2013, 19:11
Alcohol v7 -a crippled german version- isn't capable of performing the required DPM (data position measurement).
You need the international version 2.0.2.3931 or DAEMON Tools Pro to create an image with DPM.
This option is only for very old SecuROM versions in case a CD copy was imperfect.
It doesn't help at all for SecuROM versions starting from version 4.8x back in 2003.


I have an image that was made with a recent release of Alcohol 120 using the securom database (the DPM was indicated to be successful in the log) but when I launch the application after mounting with daemon tools lite in win 8.1 I'm still prompted with securom error 1000
- insert original, not backup.

any thoughts?

- Mark

Terramex
26.11.2013, 14:37
Hi :)
In case you're using a DT device that error message is normal - DT devices only provide basic emulation.
Advanced emulation (e.g. for copy protections) is only available using SCSI devices.

If you already tried in a SCSI device the DPM maybe wasn't precise enough - other possible causes: http://forum.daemon-tools.cc/f19/gta-iv-emulation-detection-backup-disc-error-29991/#post137126