New to this!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to this!!!

I wonder if anyone could explain how to use Daemon tools. I have been advised to use alcohol 120% to make back ups but also recomended to use Daemon too. How do the two work togther?? Sorry to be so green but I'm very new to this

Thanks

Daemon Tools is a CD emulator. It acts as a driver (i think) and makes believe to Windows that there is a new CD/DVD drive.
    Instead of putting real CDs in your real CD drive, you put CD Images in your virtual CD drive.
    Those images (like .iso, .ccd, .mds) are made by other softwares, such as Alcohol 120%

The process is simple : Put real CD in real drive -> run Alcohol and make an image of this CD -> eject the real CD -> put the CD image in DTools virtual drive -> run the game.
    And thanks to DTools team and their awesome job, you then can run games without being buzzed by physical CD management !

Hope it's clearer now

Comment

Still cannot get it to work

Thanks for the over view. I am starting to get a little more familar.
      I tried to back up two games, FIFA 2003 and Harry Potter. They are both EA game, and when making an image they both show Yellow triangles with exclamation marks in. This shows in the Alachol copying window after the first 3 seconds and continous to scrol throughout the copying process. It reads 'Read Data eamination Error' continously. This is a very slow process and takes around 10 mins for about 2%. I stopped the process because it obviously is not reading correctly. Have you or anyone any suggestions. Incidently I have successfully made back-ups with other of my games, but I don't think they had any protection!!

Thanks

Comment