PDA

View Full Version : Should I mount *ALL* the images at once, or one at a time..?



clokkevi
23.07.2004, 20:47
Operating System: Windows 5.1.2600.1106
Burning Software: CDRWIN 3.9G, Nero 6.3.1.17
Anti-virus Software: n/a
DAEMON Tools Version: 3.46

Some games have many cds that are to be installed.

After CD1 is finished, you get the message:
"Please insert CD2"

I would like to know the correct way to do this with D-Tools + images.

A.
1. Mount "CD1-image", stop the autoplay, mount "CD2-image", "CD3-image"...
2. Start installing with Start-> Run.. = [CD1-image]:\setup.exe
3. Then when setup needs "CD2", it will "know" about it being in "CD2-image" drive, and just continue automaticallly.

B.
1. Mount "CD1-image", start install
2. When "CD2" is needed, un-mount "CD1-image", mount "CD2-image" in the same drive


Or is this different from game to game?
E.g. do some games have to read "CD2", "CD3" etc. from the same drive as "CD1" was read from..?

MisterEd
24.07.2004, 00:01
Operating System: -
Burning Software: -
Anti-virus Software: -
DAEMON Tools Version: -

it depends on the game. some check all available drives for the cd, some will ask for the driveletter and others use only the drive the game was installed from.

i use only one virtual drive and mount the image that is ask for. this works for every game, at least until now.

Andareed
24.07.2004, 03:23
Method 2 is correct. Unmounting/mounting is just like ejecting/loading on a real cdrom.

clokkevi
25.07.2004, 17:27
Thank you for your replies! :D