• Show
Clear All

• Script to set drive letter

Operating System: XP SP1a
    Burning Software: Nero 6
    Anti-virus Software: AVG
    DAEMON Tools Version: 3.46

Love Daemon tools, never had a problem except the following;

I want to use Daemon Tools in schools. I use ActiveDirectoy to do roll out and this works fine with the MSI. Problem is, I never know what the drive letter is going to be so configuring software can be a problem. I need to be able to either;

1 - Specify drive letter in the MSI at install time
    -or-
    2 - Execute a script which changes the drive letter. (I have considered trying AUTOIT, but I have never used if before and I think there must be a better way).

The way I see it, a script would need to work as follows;

1 - Identify all 'DaemonTools' drives (???)
    2 - Obtain the drive ID of these drives (???)
    3 - Re map drive letters (HKLM\MountedDevices...)

Can anyone help me ?

(I have already looked at all the 3rd party add-ons including DeamonScript and non of them will do this for me!)

Thanks,

Operating System: XP PRO SP1a
    Burning Software: nero, decrypter, iso-recorder, you name it.
    Anti-virus Software: Panda
    DAEMON Tools Version: 3.46

sry, but I don't have an answer, but think your question is excellent and I would like to know as well (doing similar tasks).....I'll research what I can and keep up w/ this thread.

Have you searched http://groups.google.com ? Thats where I'm going to start.

-clAmm

Comment

Script to change drive letter

I have come up against the same problem with the Avantis CD server client. It installs devices and lets Windows assign the drive letters.