PDA

View Full Version : Sims 2 Problem



jamesnylen
14.10.2004, 01:24
Operating System: Windows 98
Burning Software: None
Anti-virus Software: None
DAEMON Tools Version: 3.47

Hello,
Whenever I try to run The Sims 2 with an image loaded by Daemon Tools, it says to please insert the correct cd-rom, press OK, and restart the application. I have tried 3 different images, and this setup works just fine on another Windows 2000 computer I have. Any ideas as to what could be wrong?

JariK-Tietomedia
14.10.2004, 14:31
Does Sims 2 even support Win9x?

What program(s) and setting(s) did you use to create the images?

jamesnylen
14.10.2004, 18:02
It installs just fine. So I don't think the images are the problem. The images for the first 2 cd's are ISO's, and I'm not sure what program they were made with. The second 2 are MDS/MDF files made with Alcohol.

I think the Sims 2 is designed to work under win98 because it installs correctly, but that could be it.

JariK-Tietomedia
14.10.2004, 18:49
The Alcohol MDS/MDF images should work then, is there any difference in error messages between Alcohol images and the real CDs?

Doom 3 is known not to support Win9x without hacking, so if even the original CD doesn't work I'd say it must be due 1.) the copyprotection requires NT and/or 2.) the actual game requires NT.

jamesnylen
14.10.2004, 18:53
Thanks for your help. Do you know where I could get such a hack? You can email me at dt@jamesn.endjunk.com if you want.

JediKnight
15.10.2004, 13:32
Operating System: Windows XP Pro SP2 DirectX 9.0c
Burning Software: Nero (latest)
Anti-virus Software: HouseCall (online)
DAEMON Tools Version: 3.47

Sims2 works fine under Win98
What mini image are you using ? I use IND's mini virtual disc (170 KBytes) and it works great (no need for the complete CD1 image).

qwakrz
06.11.2004, 13:22
Operating System: XP SP2
Burning Software: Nero, Alcohol
Anti-virus Software: NAV 2004
DAEMON Tools Version: 3.47

I know this thread was a bit old but....

I have been having the same problems as a few people with new software & this is what I have found out.

Sims 2. This will not work using a copy (using Alcohol & DPM) read from the original & mounted in DT. It reports that you must use the original CD. Burn the same image to a CDRW using RMPS and it will work fine. It seems that the copy protection can tell where the original file is coming from, possibly speed of seek times etc.

I now have a CDR inside my Sims 2 box & play from that disc.

Ciros
07.11.2004, 10:47
Operating System: Winxp
Burning Software: Nero,Alcohol,Clone cd,clone dvd2,blindwrite
Anti-virus Software: NAV2005
DAEMON Tools Version: 3.47

Hi,
when it comes out I installed the sims 2 on my pc. I have played with it for more time using daemon tools. From some days it says me to insert the cd/dvd because it has been found emulator. I have recently installed toca race driver 2 that show me the same window I read with the sims 2 now.
What's happened? :|
In this moment toca is not installed because I cannot detach cd/dvd burners.

Thank you,
bye.