PDA

View Full Version : Help with making perfect images of games...



foley8080
08.01.2003, 20:39
I have been testing all of the software out there and cant seem to make a perfect 1:1 copy of my games. I dont know if it is my cd burner or the discs i am using. I have a samsung burner and i am using maxwell cds for my blanks cdr-s. So i was wondering if anyone out there could help me with this stuff. Thank you very much.

Andareed
08.01.2003, 21:40
could you post the EXACT model please. ALso, try using alcohol 120 or ******** to burn the cd. And what cd are you trying to burn?

foley8080
08.01.2003, 23:51
The model number for my cd-burner is a Samsung CDRW/DVD-SM332B. It is an all in one cd burner. I am currently using alcohol 120%, i made some images for the games that i wanted to back up, i ran them and they ran fine. But then when i tried to burn it onto a blank disc, then the program froze. I am trying to back up my medal of honor allied assult and spearhead. I am using maxell cd-r 700 MB. I hope this is enough info for you.

foley8080
08.01.2003, 23:52
I have also tried to use game jack but it makes my computer freeze and restart. The makers say there is an update coming out but i havent seen it yet.

Andareed
09.01.2003, 00:26
does it freeze if you try simulation? also disable any background stuff like antivirus and firewall. do you or have you every had easy cd?

foley8080
09.01.2003, 08:17
I have not tried to close all of my background programs, ill try that. But why does the image work fine but then the disc i just burned not work. I turned all of the emulation stuff off and it still works fine. Is my image a 1:1 copy? Is my burner good to do these kind of things? What blank CD-Rs should i use? I have easy cd creator, but it wont work with maxell cdrs. Should I try a different brand? If you could help me that would be great.

Andareed
09.01.2003, 20:41
first off, easy cd is evil, and you should not use it; uninstall it!
if the image works with d-tools (no emulation);
INSERT INTO `portal_posts_text` VALUES
then it is probably 1:1. goto www.gamecopyworld.com and lookup the copy protection. perhaps something is messed up with your burner or windows? try maybe uninstaling some things.

foley8080
09.01.2003, 21:38
Thanks, ill uninstall somethings and try it out again. Ill let you know if i am still having the same problems. Thank you.

foley8080
09.01.2003, 22:03
If I were to remove easy cd do you think that it would fix my problem that I am having?

NetSoerfer
09.01.2003, 22:11
Easy CD Creator leaves many files on your system although you deinstall it so it's not at all said that deinstalling it will solve your problems. But it will definitely be a good start to get a clean system ;)

Sergei

foley8080
09.01.2003, 22:22
Where should i start? What programs conflict with burning and reading cds?

NetSoerfer
09.01.2003, 23:41
I only know about Easy Coaster Creator for sure...

foley8080
10.01.2003, 09:10
Thanks.......What blank cd-r do you prefer to burn with? Do you know for what reason it conflicts with burner, im just wondering.

NetSoerfer
10.01.2003, 09:22
If I can afford them, I'm using

TDK CD-R80 - Speed-X Up to 48x
It's the TDK reference medium, costs about 0,70 here in germany.

Otherwise - the cheapest I get ;)


Sergei

foley8080
10.01.2003, 09:25
Thanks.......I uninstalled roxio, and tried using TDK discs, and still not working.

NetSoerfer
10.01.2003, 14:20
Hmm, looks to me like a problem with Easy Coaster Creator. I'm sorry I can't help you on this one, let's see what the others say :)

Sergei

Andareed
10.01.2003, 16:56
then the program froze

do you mean the burning prog froze or the game?

foley8080
10.01.2003, 17:36
my game froze

foley8080
11.01.2003, 03:40
I really think that it is my burner that is not burning, or creating the image correclty. So i think that i am going to buy myself a cd burner that is going to burn them correctly. Any suggestions on what i should buy? Thanks for all the help.

Andareed
11.01.2003, 04:04
well, I have a pretty sweet burner. LiteOn 40125S 40x12x48, two clonecd sheeps, and works very well. But i know they have at least 48x out... LiteOn are almost cheap!

foley8080
11.01.2003, 09:13
Thanks......I have a dell computer, i was wondering if there are any compaines that make black cd-roms? Im just wondering.

Andareed
11.01.2003, 09:46
i don't know of any specific ones. However, most places for $10 extra, offer black models.