PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Help



Ninjacore
23.11.2004, 11:13
Operating System: Windows XP Pro SP2 (fully updated as of now)
Burning Software: CloneCD 5.0.4.2, Nero 5.5.10.9
Anti-virus Software: AVG (Free Edition) 7.0.289
DAEMON Tools Version: 3.47

ok,
I'm really new here and still grasping this whole thing, so just a couple of questions first up. :?:

I usually use CloneCD as it's in your reccommeded programs. Just trying to get one thing straight, when I take a disc Image (using CloneCD) am I supposed to have the protection emulation on? ... or when I go to mount the image ... and also, I made a copy of my Heroes of Might and Magic IV play disc and when I went to mount the image my computer crashed and reset itself.

any answers/suggestions?

:arrow: cheers in advanced.

Ninjacore
23.11.2004, 11:24
actually, scrap the part about HOMAM IV cause i tryed it againa dn it worked :O

Copytrooper
23.11.2004, 11:30
So the remaining question is "am I supposed to have the protection emulation on?" - the answer is no, you don't need any emulation to play from (appropriate) image.
Note that some protections need additional data (so-called DPM data - e.g. SecuROM), CloneCD can NOT create appropriate images, use Alcohol or Blindwrite in these cases.

Ninjacore
23.11.2004, 14:47
cheers for the speedy reply,

ok let me verify :oops:

so I don't need it on when I take the image or when I mount the image file?

Copytrooper
23.11.2004, 15:04
Both no :mrgreen:

Ninjacore
23.11.2004, 15:56
ok so,
i'll just ask more questions as im stillg etting my head around all of this.
I hope you guys don't mind ... it sucks being a newbie :oops:

i install my game
take an image of the play disc (using the right software)
mount the image
and it should all work?

I was under the impression that I had to follow different steps in order to figure out the different types of protection that exists on the game cd. If so what are these steps? ... i'm browsing the daemon tools help section and still getting my head around this.

Copytrooper
23.11.2004, 16:03
i install my game
take an image of the play disc (using the right software)
mount the image
and it should all work?
Yes :mrgreen:
Depends on some games storing install path in registry and/or ini files, and some protection blacklists - but usually it'll work.

Ninjacore
23.11.2004, 16:07
in those cases you described ... what do I do then?

Copytrooper
23.11.2004, 16:13
In case of registry/inis you either change/edit them (recommended if you know what you're doing ONLY!), or install from mounted image (recommended), or change drive letter of virtual device.
In case of blacklistings you've to look for workarounds (if any exist), or wait for next version.