How are your virtual drives done?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How are your virtual drives done?

First of all, thanks for such an awesome software package. I've been using Daemon tools for years now and it's one of the most handy tools I've ever used, so huge thanks.

The other day I thought of a nice usage for 'virtual drives' for on-the-fly backups, so I started fleshing out the idea. I'm actually a software developer by day, so I know you guys are trying to run a business, but I'd love to know if your virtual drive solution is implemented as a system driver, or if it runs in user-space.

I'm just trying to get a grasp of where to start, in the Win32 DDK or over in the SDK. No problem if you can't answer, but I figured I'd give it a shot!

Thanks guys, and keep up the great work!
    ~Rob

DDK! You have to pay for it, but you can get it for about $10.

Kernel-Mode Basics What Every Driver Writer Needs to Know

MSDN Home > MSDN Library > Win32 and COM Development > Driver Development Kit > Storage Devices > Design Guide > Storage Miniport Drivers > SCSI Miniport Drivers

p.s. Here's a google search for more info: link.
    the modern world:
    net helpmsg 4006

Comment

DDK

Windows Kernel Internals, Windows Driver Model powerpoints
      the modern world:
      net helpmsg 4006

Comment

Yeah, I spent the better part of today researching driver development. I've stuck to user-mode programming thus far in my career, looks like it's time to take a dive into driver development

Comment

DDK

I've taken a shallow dive and come up for water many times.