PDA

View Full Version : Virtual SCSI Not Found (W2k)



DepecheNYC
20.02.2003, 19:09
Here are the specs:
AMD T-Bird 1Ghz
Corsair XMS3300 256MB
DFI AK-76SN
Maxtor Diamond Max Plus 60 40GB HD

I don't have either EasyCD Creator or Nero installed so there is no nerocd95.vxd. However I stil get Virtual SCSI Not Found error. I'm running Win2k Data Center. If you can help me solve this problem then please email me or reply. Thanks a lot.

DepecheNYC
21.02.2003, 03:24
I just found out that the drive/scsi is found when I'm at the computer itself. However, when I connect to this computer using Remote Desktop control or terminal service from elsewhere, the drive is not detected.

Ivo
03.03.2003, 07:35
I get the same message under Win Xp Pro. I started receiving it immedialtely after the installation of D-Tools, not after some upgrade of XP. Uninstalling and re-installing does not solve the problem, although uninstallation goes without problem (I am not asked about this .msi file).

Andareed
03.03.2003, 10:50
@DepecheNYC: Is it possible there are some security issues with remote desktop. I mean, maybe a remote user would have little need to access a cdrom and ms disables it? I will test this out on winxp though.

@Ivo: Run devmgmt.msc, goto scsi and system devices section. Report the status (error code+message) of the st3??? and PNP bios extension.

ze303
12.03.2003, 19:06
I've got a similar problem. I recently installed 'clean' XP Pro and soon after Daemon tools. No prob with installing but after reboot I got error message "Virtual SCSI driver not found". I uninstalled and reinstalled DTools and everything worked fine until next reboot.

Device Manager gives following error for virtual SCSI controller. Plug and Play BIOS extension is working properly.

ST3MP28 SCSI Controller
This device cannot start. (Code 10)

Click Troubleshoot to start the troubleshooter for this device.

Development
12.03.2003, 19:25
@ze303:What is displayed in device manager before you reboot (after installation)?

ze303
12.03.2003, 20:02
@VeNoM386: It shows all devices mentioned before working properly.

I found that after reboot, simply by disabling and re-enabling the ST3XXX controller in device manager, DTools will function again (atleast until the next reboot :) I hope this work-around helps until a more permanent solution comes up...

Development
12.03.2003, 20:23
Do you see any errors in the system event log originating from st3mp28.sys ?

ze303
12.03.2003, 20:29
Yes.

Event Type: Error
Event Source: st3mp28
Event Category: None
Event ID: 4
Date: 12.3.2003
Time: 17:55:35
User: N/A

Computer:
Description:
Driver detected an internal error in its data structures for .

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 00 00 00 00 01 00 58 00 ......X.
0008: 00 00 00 00 04 00 04 c0 .......А
0010: 7f 4d 4f 80 c0 00 00 c0 MO€А..А
0018: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........