Recommend a Graphics Card

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recommend a Graphics Card

Currently I've got a Geforce XFX 5200, really rubbish, and using 3d mark, I get results of around 265, with overclocking. My budget is around Ј150 (UK sterling). Some of you might think that too low, but as a university student, I need to survive the outragous university fees.
    I've never been that interested in gaming, but with upcoming releases, I'm gonna need something new, and my Graphics card is the only outdated peice of hardware. Anyway, I ain't to clever with buying hardware, just look at my RAM post, and you'll understand.:wink: I need recommendations for cards that will survive a long time.

Do you have PCI-E or AGP?
    And what do you prefer, ATI or nVIDIA?
    Last edited by Methadon; 10.11.2005, 21:03.

Comment

I'd probably go for a GeForce 6600 or 6800 with 128MB, depending on your budget. At http://www.misco.co.uk you can get those from BFG, slightly overclocked (yet with full warranty).

BFG GeForce 6800 OC 128MB DDR TV-Out Dual DVI: £160
      BFG GeForce 6600GT OC 128MB DDR TV-Out Dual DVI: £134

The GF6800 is definitely faster than a Radeon 9800Pro (which they also have in stock for a higher price). It's not the fastest card out there anymore, but for ~£150 it's pretty good.

Those are for AGP which I assume will be what you need. I don't really know about ATi cards in that price range... It'd probably be an X700, but I don't know how good that one is.
      Last edited by NetSoerfer; 10.11.2005, 21:06.
      "I was inappropriately blunt, wasn't I? Sorry, I do that a lot."

Comment

Well, I'd recommend a GeForce 6600GT with 256Mb memory. That's what I have, it's not too expensive, though it won't be able to run everything at full from now on. (games like B&W2 and F.E.A.R. don't run at full, but they're damn pretty with what I can get..oh, and I haven't overclocked, so I might get more out of it)