PDA

View Full Version : Disable Tool Bar Instructions



maddogbyrd@yahoo.com
28.11.2005, 10:11
:mad:
1. First in the task manager remove the application

2 Go to Control Panel and access the firewall delete the access for the DT tool bar.

3. Then use Spybot S&D or other reliable anti spy ware and run it. If using S&D a reboot will be necessary to totally remove the applications loaded by DT Tool Bar

4. If using another firewall disable access there also for example in Zone Alarm go to program control. programs and deny access or delete the operation of DT Tool Bar.
:mad:

Copytrooper
28.11.2005, 10:21
If you don't want/need it, the first way should be uninstallation via control panel -> software to remove it.
Only if there's no entry in control panel, other ways should be considered.
But if you don't like it anyway, just disable it at installation.

Goenk
28.11.2005, 10:47
By the way, why are you using the :mad: -smiley?

The toolbar is clearly stated in the release notes and you have the option during the installation process NOT to install it at first.

Methadon
28.11.2005, 10:54
By the way, why are you using the :mad: -smiley?

The toolbar is clearly stated in the release notes and you have the option during the installation process NOT to install it at first.

Some people blame DT because they didn't read anything at the installation.
Many of them just mass pressed the next button through the installation.

Note that I am not accusing "maddogbyrd@yahoo.com" for doing that.

Goenk
28.11.2005, 11:33
Hi Methadon

I also don't accuse him for that.

I just think, why are people are always blaming development teams for there doing. To me your interest in getting a bit more support from the Non-Customers by adding an optional ad-tool is okay. You clearly state that you have included this to the free-version of DT4 and give the users the choice of installing it or not. You also provide a seperate uninstall icon in the software panel, what is also a great "feature".

But us you said: Most people just click on "next" to get this software installed and do not read the setup windows.

Sabrehawk
30.11.2005, 12:50
I and him are not BLAMING anyone for the FACT that the
installer (reason unknown) does NOT opt in for searchbar
installation and the control panel does NOT contain a
uninstall option. As i have proven twice already on my
system with a complete new OS install. We are merely
pointing out solutions and possible flaws of the installer
routine that surely are not intentional by the Devs.
I have no frickin idea why the control panel does not
contain the searchbar uninstallation entry after installing
DT 4.0 non customer while the software IS installed
on the rig, easily found by any freeware scanner.