PDA

View Full Version : Corrupted Installer - Now I can't install at all!



mfhjoe
03.12.2005, 17:05
Hi,

I downloaded your software and ran the installer. I thought it was strange when I clicked Next once and then it said it had been installed, so I restarted my computer and downloaded it again. When I run this better one though, I get:

You must reboot after your previous operation
I have been through the registry time and again, and still can't find the correct entry (I used the tutorial in the FAQ board). Any suggestions?

Cheers,

Joe

Underheaven
05.12.2005, 03:22
I thought it was strange when I clicked Next once and then it said it had been installed, so I restarted my computer and downloaded it againDo you remember any crashes or a sudden power off when you were first installing DAEMON Tools?

Do you see a process named daemon.exe in your task manager? Try rebooting again (and don't launch the install program before or after rebooting). Is daemon.exe now in your task manager? After a cold reboot does launching the uninstall program from the DAEMON Tools start menu folder correctly uninstall DAEMON Tools (or are you faced with another error message)?

If you want to manually rename/delete the registry key that causes this message (registry editing is not recommended for most users. Make a backup before using the registry editor) its usually the first key under HKCU or HKCU\Software (I don't remember which branch its under) and begins with a bracket followed by some numbers and dashes (ex. "{431...........")

mfhjoe
10.12.2005, 13:56
Thanks mate I'll have a look. Will let you know if it works :).