Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Virtual directory or VHD (CD-RW or DVD-R/W)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Virtual directory or VHD (CD-RW or DVD-R/W)

Well, I have read a few threads going back and forth about making basically a virtual CD-RW / DVD-RW, and always I see people asking to justify it. I'll give a couple of reasons why I need it.

Being a network engineer, I have hundreds of directories in various areas of my HD. Several of them go multiple layers in depth. I try to keep certain directories in an image file because I need them under Virtual Server. Often I update different areas of these directories with different files, sometimes using synchronization software to maintain them. In order for me to access these files under a Virtual Server session (or Virtual PC), I need to mount an image file as a CD drive. Keeping various areas updated to use them in a virtual environment is tedious as best. I can remove the files (or start new) from a previous image and re-add them and then save it, but then I have to select what I need and wait while the image is saved. It would be a whole lot easier to maintain a directory and have the entire contents available virtually. I tried mapping in Disk Management on an NTFS directory, but it isn't what it appears to be (or doesn't create a virtual CD-RW).

Also, I create and manage Bart's UBCD's and SuperWin PE DVD disks for our office. Often I am adding or changing various items within them. Then boot under a virtual environment to test them before releasing them. Other then the original, I maintain all changes offline so I can make changes to it and then simply copy the changed menus and such over to the image. It would save a tremendous amount of time and effort again to be able to mount a virtual CD - DVD with file / dir modification (RW) abilities to make images that you can modify on the fly.