Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Invalid purchase

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • H@P
    replied
    Originally Posted by Alco View Post
    so far we do not see problems on our side - if there is indeed some bug (as user may still believe) I would suggest to this user to send a support message:
    http://www.disc-soft.com/sendmsg/tech

    The tech support department is awesome for asking for my account information, and telling me that my account is fine...

    ... except I already know my account is fine. There is nothing wrong with my account. The problem is with your program automatically deactivating itself after it hasn't been used for a while and a new version comes out.

    They don't seem understand the problem, and it doesn't appear there's any way for me to get the point across.

    They respond to my initial e-mail posted from the support page you linked, but not to any replies after that. And the initial response is less than helpful, telling me only that my account is fine and I just need to activate the new version. That's fine... until my subscription expires and I CAN'T activate the new version.

    I see that V220 is now out. I think I'll wait a few weeks, then try and run V219 again... and when it stops working AGAIN I'll contact tech support AGAIN and perhaps then they'll get it.

    Unimpressed so far.

    H@P
    Last edited by H@P; 23.01.2008, 21:48.

    Leave a comment:


  • mwb1100
    replied
    Originally Posted by H@P View Post
    I use the DT Pro disc imaging portion rather infrequently. I mainly use the explorer-integrated mounting portion. I understand there is a "phone home"-like scheme that wants to run every few weeks. I haven't run the disc imaging interface since just after 218 was released, and the previous version (216?) deactivated by itself then as well. Perhaps my infrequent use of the disc imaging portion of the program is part of the problem.
    This is similar to my use pattern - I wonder if you have hit on something here...

    Leave a comment:


  • H@P
    replied
    Originally Posted by Alco View Post
    We see that you canceled your build 218 couple days ago, so now you have to download and activate build 219.
    As soon as you canceled previous build you can use only build 219.
    I understand how the registration process works. For clarity, these are the steps I went through a few days back.

    1. I tried to run the 218 version.
    2. It popped up a dialog saying I needed to enter the e-mail address I registered with.
    3. It said there was some problem, that it was an INVALID PURCHASE, and I needed to go to disc-soft.com to straighten things out.
    4. I went to disc-soft.com because I knew there must be a newer version available, because this is NOT the first time this has happened to me. This SAME THING has happened to me with EVERY release so far since I purchased it.
    5. There was a new version available, so I cancelled my 218 build, downloaded the 219 build, and activated it.
    6. I realized there is a potential problem with this activation scheme, because it keeps deactivating the version I have installed whenever a newer version comes out. I figured I'd better post a problem report before my subscription expires. And here we are.

    I *DID NOT* cancel my 218 build until *AFTER* 218 told me it was an INVALID PURCHASE.

    And I want to make sure it will not deactivate on me after my subscription expires and I'm left with a non-working program.

    I use the DT Pro disc imaging portion rather infrequently. I mainly use the explorer-integrated mounting portion. I understand there is a "phone home"-like scheme that wants to run every few weeks. I haven't run the disc imaging interface since just after 218 was released, and the previous version (216?) deactivated by itself then as well. Perhaps my infrequent use of the disc imaging portion of the program is part of the problem.

    I'll submit a report to the link you provided.

    H@P
    Last edited by H@P; 14.01.2008, 21:07. Reason: clarified similar deactivation with prior build

    Leave a comment:


  • Alco
    replied
    so far we do not see problems on our side - if there is indeed some bug (as user may still believe) I would suggest to this user to send a support message:

    Contact DAEMON Tools technical support with any questions or issues.

    Leave a comment:


  • mwb1100
    replied
    Please re-read H@P's 2nd post because this problem also happens to me, so if it is not supposed to happen then we have a bug in the activation/validation system that needs to be addressed. Note that DT Pro becomes unusable before the current install is 'canceled'. All that seems to need to happen is that a newer version becomes available.

    Leave a comment:


  • Alco
    replied
    if you would login to your www.disc-soft.com account and there cancel your previous build (for example build 218) then you should download build 219 and install it.

    but of course you are NOT obliged (not required) to cancel your current build, so you can use your current build FOREVER.

    P.S.
    We see that you canceled your build 218 couple days ago, so now you have to download and activate build 219.
    As soon as you canceled previous build you can use only build 219.

    You can send me a PM if you still have some specific Disc-soft.com account issues.

    Leave a comment:


  • H@P
    replied
    Originally Posted by Alco View Post
    you should update the latest build (219) and not the previous - build which already was canceled by you
    That's my point. I didn't "cancel" my build. I just tried to run the version I have installed, and it told me to enter the e-mail address I registered with, after which it told me it was an INVALID PURCHASE and I had to straighten things out with disc-soft.com.

    This happens every time there's a new version. What if I don't want to update immediately after a new build comes out? Or back to my original question, what if I can't because my subscription has expired?

    I understand the 1-year subscription buys me 1-year of updates. I just want to make sure I can continue to use whatever version I have after my subscription expires.

    And it's looking like this may not be the case.

    H@P

    Leave a comment:


  • Alco
    replied
    you should update the latest build (219) and not the previous - build which already was canceled by you

    Leave a comment:


  • mwb1100
    replied
    Originally Posted by H@P View Post
    Does this mean that once my 1-year registration expires, and subsequently a new version comes out, that the older version will deactivate and I'll be stuck with a non-working program?
    This is a good question that deserves an answer. But, even if we are still under subscription, why are we forced to update in these situations? Notification is one thing, but to render an installation unusable simply because a newer version is released is pretty harsh. I prefer to update on my schedule for my reasons - especially for something like DT which typically requires a reboot for an update.

    Leave a comment:


  • H@P
    started a topic Invalid purchase

    Invalid purchase

    Every so often DT PRO wants me to validate my license, and comes back with an INVALID PURCHASE warning, telling me I need to go to disc-soft.com and straighten things out.

    This usually corresponds to a new version release.

    Does this mean that once my 1-year registration expires, and subsequently a new version comes out, that the older version will deactivate and I'll be stuck with a non-working program?

    H@P

    I just _love_ bulky registration schemes that treat customers like criminals...
Working...
X