Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Showing results 41 to 50 of 81

Thread: Titan Quest

  1. #41
    New User
    Join Date
    28.07.2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    OK.

    I have uninstalled CloneCD but it stills does not work.

  2. #42

    Default

    Which error do you get now ? The same ?

  3. #43
    New User
    Join Date
    28.07.2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    The error that I get now is that there is a conflict with emulation software.

  4. #44
    TRANSLATOR OFFICIAL TRANSLATOR

    LooDos's Avatar
    Join Date
    16.11.2005
    Posts
    694

    Default

    maybe there are some registry entries left. try to find and delete them.

  5. #45

    Default

    ok, iґm german, so pls excuse my "speach". as i experienced the same probs and spend the whole evening finding a solution, i HAD to register, just to tell you what to do! (exept go out there and buy this game!)
    i just finished one and a half hour of playing without crashing, so i guess "my" solution should do the trick...
    here it comes:
    - deinstall all that stuff! deinstall titan quest, deinstall cure rom, deinstall win-xp! (just kidding, keep xp!) donґt worry about your saves, i deinstalled a couple of times but my chars are still there!
    - get yourself the latest daemontools and mount your tq-file
    - install tq
    - go into your games/titanquest (or whatever dir!) and rename the "videos" folder into whatever you like (skips the fu---ing non-skippable intro!)
    - get yourself this "securom-loader 1.2" and put it anywhere you like EXEPT into the titan folder!
    - rename this "asr.exe" into "explorer.exe"
    start asr, choose "titan quest.exe" from your game dir and have fun!
    easy, eh?




    oh... i see...... forgot the cruicial part! the patch! do not, i repeat: DO NOT use the ingame updater! get yourself this 1.01-1.11 patch and patch manually!!!
    - patch it!
    start asr, choose "titan quest.exe" from your game dir and have fun!
    easy, eh?

    this works just fine for me, i played all my former chars and got this nifty little "ver. 1.11" in my lower right corner of the startup-screen!

    i hope i did a fair job explaining this in a foreign language and also hope all of you can enjoy this game...

  6. #46
    Experienced User
    Reef's Avatar
    Join Date
    30.03.2003
    Posts
    860

    Default

    So you registered to repeat something that's already been said in this thread? And why uninstall the game first?
    Just patch to 1.11, rename asr.exe and runt it outside the game dir. Nothing more, nothing less.
    Quote Originally Posted by tanakin
    exept go out there and buy this game!
    Are you sayinig you didn't buy this game?

  7. #47
    New User
    Join Date
    30.07.2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    OK, so I've been using D-tools for over a year now, but I've never encountered these problems before.

    Saying to uninstall Daemon/curerom etc. does not fix the problem. I am wondering if you have tried to use Titan Quest yourself to make it work?

    Anyway, I've spent about an hour messing around with it, and I can always tell when it's about to crash. All sounds in the game stop for roughly 3 seconds, then pick back up. The next time you open any window, such as your inventory, skills, quest log, shop - ANYTHING, and the game simply closes itself. I am running newest version of ASR on my desktop renamed to explorer.exe. I have not hacked or edited my characters in any way (which I suspected earlier might have been the problem, but it was proven wrong). I do have 3 MODs installed to game.dll (potions, relics, show damage) but it crashes w/t them too.

    In 1.08, I simply used curerom 1.2 and it worked fine. Now, with 1.11, with curerom, I get an error on loading - not am emulation problem, but "A required security module cannot be activated." It then gives a link, but the link is invalid >,>

    So, I moved to ASR, and it loads. I can play for 5 minutes, and then the problems above happen. The longest I have gone without crashing is less than 15 minutes.

    Any questions? Be glad to help if you don't have the game.

  8. #48
    New User
    Join Date
    30.07.2006
    Posts
    2

    Default I can confirm 98 compatability w/Pr0t St0p eliminates crashes on AMD x64 X2 CPU.

    Skip down for a short summary.

    I run a 64-bit dual-core system, with Windows XP x64.
    Running a 64-bit version of windows mean you have to learn a lot of tricks to get games working right, running dual-core means even more.

    These are the steps I recommend:
    1. Install Titan Quest from your image (I have all emulation settings off)
    2. Download & Extract SecuROM v1.2 to somewhere besides the game directory (I chose my desktop). I never actually personally tested whether running it in the game directory did or didn't work.

      I initially renamed asr.exe to explorer.exe, but it appears to work fine just named asr.exe (maybe otherwise if ran from the game directory?), so I renamed it back to asr.exe.

      Now running asr.exe, and targeting Titan Quest should (hopefully) work fine, and the game will run.

      However, you may (as I did) experience extremely frequent irritating crashes. Here are the further steps I took:
    3. Right click and select properties (or hold Alt and double click) on Titan Quest.exe. Go to the Compatability tab, and set it to run in compatability mode for Windows 98 / Windows Me. (others may or may not work).

      This will stop the crashes. After this you shouldn't crash going through portals, or entering/exiting shopkeepers. (I personally only crashed on exiting them, going through personal and city portals, and I think maybe just running around fighting once or twice. The crashes weren't consistent, but seemed to occur more and more frequently the longer I played.)

      However, there's something else you have to do.

      With Compatability mode turned on, launching the game (with asr.exe) will now probably give you the error: "Conflict with Disc Emulator Software detected." You fix it by:
    4. Downloading and extracting Pr0t.St0p v1.0 to the same location (I chose my desktop).
    5. Run Pr0t.St0p and Hide your virtual drives.


    Short version, and summary: With Win 98 / Me compatability should stop the crashing, and SecuROM Loader v1.2 in combination with Pr0t.St0p v1.0 should allow you to run the game (I don't think either will work alone).

    I appear to be running the latest version (I'm not entirely sure where to check? Didn't see any version information on the exe) because the in-game updater said there were no patches.

    I also have a ton of x64 and dual-core specific information on getting games and applications to work as per this post's intro, but it was getting long, and this probably isn't the place for it (and there's too much to type in one night, heh), so I won't be posting it here. If anyone is interested I can still supply it. In my attempt to get Titan Quest working I updated my AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor drivers (an essential update, as it fixes timing issues in many games), and added the /usepmtimer parameter to the operating system line in my boot.ini file. I'm not sure if either, both, or neither of them were necessary, but the driver update was a good thing at least. (I may test the boot.ini parameter later.)
    Last edited by Swin : 05.08.2006 at 19:07

  9. #49

    Default

    first of all, many thanks for your kind words.
    thank you!


    Quote Originally Posted by Reef
    So you registered to repeat something that's already been said in this thread? And why uninstall the game first?
    i read this thread, there where many of you repeating many things, so why are you flaming on me?

    and why uninstalling?

    because!

    i tried without uninstalling, but i got this "security module"-thing. unistall all helped for me, just wanted to help, thank you very much.

    Quote Originally Posted by Reef
    Just patch to 1.11, rename asr.exe and runt it outside the game dir. Nothing more, nothing less.
    maybe, but here seems to be some people out there STILL experiencing trouble in spite of your all high-and-mighty-knowledge... thats where i came into it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Reef
    Are you sayinig you didn't buy this game?
    I did! I use a mdf anyway! what about you?

    since my help is neither wanted or needed i wont bother you any more, just one more thing:
    **** **!

  10. #50
    New User
    Join Date
    30.07.2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Swin, you're a genius! I just did a 30 minute gaming session! Thanks!

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •