How to copy software CD's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to copy software CD's

I admit, I'm a complete beginner at the burning copying side of computer knowledge so I could certainly use some good advice. Some good advice I got today was to look for an answer to my question here, and it does seem like I've come to the right place for a solution.

I may take an overseas job which would see me, my laptop, and my digital camera going overseas for some months. Knowing well the fragility of the windows OS I'm concerened about what to do if I have a major system crash, get invaded by a virus etc. and have to reinstall my OS and programs. I don't want to carry all my CD's with me, especially the originals and copies would be bulky.

Is it possible to copy my software CD's onto an external harddrive and reinstall them from there if I have to? This would include MS XP Pro, Office XP, Adobe Photoshop 7, and starry nights to quote some examples of softwares I would like to put onto such a harddrive.

Some people have said that it can't be done this way. Others say special software is needed. Help, I need advice before the month is out.

Thanks,

Tom

The main problem is that if you do have a complete system crash, you're going to need at least one CD -- the Windows XP CD -- to format and/or reinstall your OS. The idea behind programs like DAEMON Tools is to be able to mount CD images as virtual drives so that users will no longer have to swap discs constantly (usually to play various games). In your case, however, you're backing up applications that don't need the CD in the drive once they're installed. This gives you two perfectly viable solutions.