Help with Starforce / Etherlords 2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Starforce / Etherlords 2

I am new to Daemon Tools, so sorry if this is a daft question.

I am trying to back up my precious etherlords 2 game disc. I know it uses Starforce (v 3.03 I believe). I am using DT Pro advanced, v4.36.

I have made images using the default Starforce profile, mount them, but when I run them I get a "No Disc Found" error from Starforce.

Reading through the forum, I gather there's a problem if Starforce can see SCSI drives, so I deleted my virtual SCSI drives and mounted the image on virtual IDE. Still no luck.

Can anyone help? Thanks

Paul

Please check protect.dll for exact version of StarForce.

Also if you get "No Disc Found" it means wrong disc.
    Make something idiot proof, but then they just make a better idiot
    Peace Through Power

Comment

ProtectionId reports Starforce v3.3.31.21 (Build 13.02.04)
      Protection level Starforce Professional.

When I use the physical disc I use to create the image, I don't get "No Disc Found" - the game loads as it should.

Thanks

Paul

Comment

Try to recreate your image with High DPM precision (also try different DPM speeds in case non-working). I haven't had that old SF version yet, only a bit newer ones.
        Peace Through Power

Comment

I already tried that once unsuccessfully, so please could you give me a few pointers? (sorry these are newb questions)

Are the slower read speeds going to be better, or do I just keep trying different speeds?

Is it going to be better to check the "lock media" and "open exclusively" boxes, or, again, do I just try all the combinations?

Does the image format make any difference? (I've been avoiding ISO)

Anything else I should know?!

Thanks again

Paul

Comment

Originally Posted by Blazkowicz View Post
            Also if you get "No Disc Found" it means wrong disc.
            Nah, not in this case. Afair the complete message is: