Showing results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: "Error in command line" - No programs will start, computer broken!

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    28.05.2011
    Posts
    4

    Default "Error in command line" - No programs will start, computer broken!

    Hey guys,

    After installing Daemon tools, whenever I try and open any program (.exe) on my computer, I get this error message:

    DAEMON Tools Lite
    Error in Command Line.

    I've already uninstalled Daemon tools completely, and no Daemon tools processes are running in the background.

    I've tried searching the forums, and although similar people have had the same problem, their fix doesn't work for me. I can't open regedit, and this fix:

    REGEDIT
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shell\open\command]
    @="\"%1\" %*"

    doesn't work. Also, when I try the "assoc exe=exefile" fix, I get this error in command line:

    Access is denied.
    Error while processing: .exe

    Note that I did this by going to file -> New Task in Task Manager and then hitting control-enter, since I can't actually run cmd.

  2. #2
    Customer
    Terramex's Avatar
    Join Date
    06.09.2004
    Posts
    2,566

    Default

    Does the current user account principally have sufficient access rights ?

    If not, after you've adjusted that please do both "fixes" in command line:
    Code:
    assoc .exe=exefile (hit Enter)
    ftype exefile="%1" %* (hit Enter)
    I'm not employed by Disc Soft and my views do not necessarily reflect the ones of the company.

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    28.05.2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Yes, I'm logged on as administrator and I still cannot perform those fixes (getting the error described above)

  4. #4
    New User
    Join Date
    28.05.2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Sorry for the double post, not sure how to edit posts.

    Other things to note:

    Right clicking on command line doesn't give a 'run as administrator' option. I believe I'm running an elevated command prompt since its starting in: C:\Windows\System32

    Also, I would be happy to simple re-install the OS at this point since I can't do anything on the computer. However, I can't find my Windows Activation Key, and I could recover it on the computer from the registry, except that I can't run any programs so I can't get to it.

    Any Ideas? Thanks a bunch guys I'm totally stuck at this point

  5. #5
    Customer
    Terramex's Avatar
    Join Date
    06.09.2004
    Posts
    2,566

    Default

    'Access denied' errors can also be caused by security softwares (though that security software should have also prohibited the changes which result you're facing now ).

    Have you also tried the fixes in Safe Mode with Command Prompt ?

    Which OS are you using ?

    EDIT:
    If everything fails please have a look here.
    You need to load the SOFTWARE hive to be able to edit the Classes subkeys.
    I'm not employed by Disc Soft and my views do not necessarily reflect the ones of the company.

  6. #6
    New User
    Join Date
    28.05.2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Sorry, the OS is Windows Vista, and I don't think any security software is installed on the computer

    I booted the computer in Safe Mode, and performed the above fixes successfully but still cannot open any exe file (or the registry).

    I tried following the guide, but unfortunately my windows Vista Reinstallation CD does not have a "repair your computer' option.

    I simply want to wipe the OS and install a clean version of Vista, any idea how to get the activation key from the registry?

    Thanks for all the help so far

  7. #7
    Customer
    Terramex's Avatar
    Join Date
    06.09.2004
    Posts
    2,566

    Default

    Here you can find a Vista ISO with RE only: Windows Vista 32-Bit (x86) Recovery Disc
    One can simply integrate a program like e.g. ProduKey by Nirsoft into that ISO.
    Later today i'll upload such an ISO (~120MB) and send you the link via PM.
    Boot with that CD, open command prompt and enter X:\Key\produkey /external (X = the letter of your optical drive).
    Of course you can also use regedit with that ISO and check your Classes before doing a fresh install
    Last edited by Blazkowicz : 02.06.2011 at 13:05
    I'm not employed by Disc Soft and my views do not necessarily reflect the ones of the company.

  8. #8
    Customer
    Terramex's Avatar
    Join Date
    06.09.2004
    Posts
    2,566

    Default Addendum

    ...also check HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.exe\
    if present, delete the UserChoice key.

    To open the HKEY_CURRENT_USER hive navigate to your userprofile folder and type
    the file name of the hidden ntuser.dat manually.
    Last edited by Blazkowicz : 02.06.2011 at 13:05
    I'm not employed by Disc Soft and my views do not necessarily reflect the ones of the company.

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •