Showing results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Don't reboot during installation

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    13.02.2003
    Posts
    5

    Default Don't reboot during installation

    Please remove the requirement to reboot in middle of installation
    ( I made that experience on w2k with DT 3.29 ).

    If this is a must, then at least print a note before rebooting, like :
    "IMPORTANT! Installation is not finished yet and will continue after reboot when you log in. Please login as an user with Administrative rights after reboot !!!"

    Regards,
    stein

  2. #2
    Administrator



    Join Date
    06.11.2002
    Posts
    2,044

    Default

    Windows Installer states clearly, that it must reboot to continue installation. i.e. it is not finished yet. What is unclear here? I think it is obvious that you must login again as same user, i.e. with administarator
    privileges.
    Reboot is required only if you removed previous version and did not reboot your machine before installing new version.

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    13.02.2003
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Strange, I installed it again and now it did not require a reboot.

    When I installed it the first time ( when it required a reboot );
    INSERT INTO `portal_posts_text` VALUES

    well... it was the first time and there was no previous version removed !
    And even if sometimes in the past there was a version of daemon tools on the system, there were many reboots after that.
    So it is unclear to me why did it require a reboot.

    I guess it's just windows :-)

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •