Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: 2 D-Tools 3.29 Win98SE Installations 1 Stable 1 Not Stable

  1. #1

    Default 2 D-Tools 3.29 Win98SE Installations 1 Stable 1 Not Stable

    One Crashes and One Does Not - Both Win98SE Machines Setup the Same

    I have two Win98SE installations of D-Tools 3.29 that access CD Clone-based CD images from a central Samba server running on Linux.

    At one point both Win98SE machines ran D-Tools fine. One Win98SE installation has since stopped working and each time I load a CD image for a game (usually EA-based games, all of which I have the original CD for) I get the following fatal blue screen error.

    Fatal Error 0D 0028:C165C661

    The machine becomes unusable after that point and must be rebooted.

    All options on both machines are the same, no obvious viruses.

    I have a standard CD (a giveaway from a computer conference) that I converted and that image works fine on the problem Win98SE machine.

    I am really stumped. Any suggestions?

    -- Mache Creeger

  2. #2
    Administrator



    Join Date
    06.11.2002
    Posts
    2,044

    Default

    This happens immeditely after mount or when you run the game?

  3. #3

    Default Re: 2 D-Tools 3.29 Win98SE Installations 1 Stable 1 Not Stab

    I looked for cdrom.inf or cdrom.pnf on my Win98SE CD. No such files exist on either machine.

    -- Mache

    Quote Originally Posted by Mache Creeger
    One Crashes and One Does Not - Both Win98SE Machines Setup the Same

    I have two Win98SE installations of D-Tools 3.29 that access CD Clone-based CD images from a central Samba server running on Linux.

    At one point both Win98SE machines ran D-Tools fine. One Win98SE installation has since stopped working and each time I load a CD image for a game (usually EA-based games, all of which I have the original CD for) I get the following fatal blue screen error.

    Fatal Error 0D 0028:C165C661

    The machine becomes unusable after that point and must be rebooted.

    All options on both machines are the same, no obvious viruses.

    I have a standard CD (a giveaway from a computer conference) that I converted and that image works fine on the problem Win98SE machine.

    I am really stumped. Any suggestions?

    -- Mache Creeger

  4. #4

    Default

    Problems happen immediately after a mount. The game CDs never show any start dialog boxes on the problem machine. Things just crash immediately.

    Both the game CD images and the standard data CD images have autruns on them. The standard data CD image mounts and starts up just fine on the problem machine.

    -- Mache

    Quote Originally Posted by VeNoM386
    This happens immeditely after mount or when you run the game?

  5. #5

    Default

    I was unable to find cdrom.inf or cdrom.pnf on the Win98SE CD. No file exists on either machine. Can someone send me a file?

    -- Mache

  6. #6
    Administrator



    Join Date
    06.11.2002
    Posts
    2,044

    Default

    In Win9x it is called mscdrom.inf.

  7. #7
    New User
    Join Date
    22.02.2003
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I have EXACTLY the same problem as poster ..

    Im running d-tools on two different networks .. seems to work fine over a NetBEUI system .. the problems are on my TCP network ..
    Im running machines towards a Win98SE "server" on one net and a WinXPPro on the other .. On the Xp net NetBEUI has been removed as an option in network protocols so i had to make the change from NetBEUI to TCP on that end .. Hope this helps .. I sure would like to see it fixed ..

    Thx for a great program guys ..

    Linkdead !!

  8. #8
    New User
    Join Date
    22.02.2003
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I removed the 3.29 .. manually in registry .. and installed the 3.26 .. seems at first glance to do the trick ..

    Try that ...

  9. #9
    New User
    Join Date
    22.02.2003
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Nope that didnt do it .. Back to the same shite .. It seems a matter of luck if it works after a reboot .. sometimes it just crashes at the instant it tries to start the old app .. or at least when it tries to initialise the trayicon .
    This does seem to happen only when you have mapped cd's through the network ... I have the same error now with 3.26 as with 3.29 .. kinda depressing ..
    Sometimes it gets through mounting but then if i right click "my computer" and try to open an explorer the same error occurs .. if i dubbeltclick the icon to open my computer it freezes while opening the window !!

  10. #10
    New User
    Join Date
    22.02.2003
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Been working to solve the problem for more than 3 hours now .. driving me nuts hehe .. plz help ..

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •